'Guitar Heroes' CD-Release Gig To Be Broadcast On Finnish TV

The CD-release concert for the "Guitar Heroes" album on November 6 at Tavastia in Helsinki, Finland will be broadcast live on the Finnish TV channel Yle Extra starting at 10 p.m. Excerpts from the show will air on Yle X on Thursday, November 8 at 9 p.m.

11 of the most respected and talented Finnish heavy metal guitarists came together in the studio to record an album for everyone who loves virtuous playing and guitar solos from outer space. With internationally acclaimed shredders like Alexi Laiho and Roope Latvala (CHILDREN OF BODOM), Timo Tolkki (STRATOVARIUS) and Emppu Vuorinen (NIGHTWISH) showing their skills, the CD will certainly appeal to every metal fan and guitar enthusiastic all around the globe.

Each of the 11 players composed a new, instrumental song for this album and for this album only. In addition, there's one "battle song" where each axeman has a solo spot to show off his skills.

Even though the album is based on heavy metal and hard rock, it is quite amazing to notice how many different styles are represented, and how much the songs differ from each other. Every single guitar player was free to express his creativity with no limitations. You can really hear it on the tracks how much fun guitar playing can be when freedom of creativity and virtuosity are taken to the highest level.

Finland has a long history in heavy metal and it is often considered as one of the leading metal countries in the world with bands like CHILDREN OF BODOM, STRATOVARIUS, SONATA ARCTICA, NIGHTWISH and HIM. There has been a strong unity among the metal bands since the mid-'80s and many of the guitar players here asked the same question: "Why hasn't anyone thought of this before?"

"Guitar Heroes" will be released in Finland on November 7, 2007 by Sony BMG Music Entertainment (Finland) Oy.

Guitar players appearing on the album are:

Emppu Vuorinen (NIGHTWISH)
Esa Holopainen (AMORPHIS)
Nino Laurenne (THUNDERSTONE)
Mr Crab (BLEAK)
Mikko Salovaara (KIUAS)
Sakari Hietala (TAROT)
Euge Valovirta (GODSPLAGUE)

Other musicians that contribute to this special album are also well-known metal aficionados Lauri Porra (bass; STRATOVARIUS, KOTIPELTO), Kai Hahto (drums; WINTERSUN, ROTTEN SOUND), Janne Parviainen (drums; ENSIFERUM, SINERGY) and Mirka Rantanen (drums; THUNDERSTONE).

For more information, visit www.guitarheroes.fi.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).