HAMMERFALL Releases 'Live' Video For '(We Make) Sweden Rock'

June 27, 2019

The official live video for "(We Make) Sweden Rock", the new single from Swedish metallers HAMMERFALL, can be seen below. The song is taken from the band's upcoming album titled "Dominion", which will be released on August 16 via Napalm Records. The clip was filmed at this year's edition of Sweden Rock Festival.

Vocalist Joacim Cans describes the creation of "(We Make) Sweden Rock": "This is a glorious tribute to the Swedish hard rock and metal movement with a lyrical theme using direct references to both other bands and songs. With catchy contagious riffs and enchanting (ear-worm) melodies, this song will be an instant classic at future HAMMERFALL shows. Without the Swedish rock and metal scene with bands like HEAVY LOAD, AT THE GATES and Yngwie Malmsteen, the world would be a pretty boring and dull place! This is our noble tribute to all the bands that inspired not only us to play metal, form bands and eventually crusading around the world in the name of heavy metal. All hail the sons of the northern light!"

Guitarist Oscar Dronjak told Janne Vuorela: "I remember Joacim sent me something saying the idea — basically laying out the idea, 'How about this? We call it '(We Make) Sweden Rock',' [and] the whole imagining behind the song. I was in the store, just doing grocery shopping, but I read that and I remember that I [responded], 'I'm just in the store, but this is a great idea. I'm going to go back home and finish it.' Then the next day, I went out into the studio and tried to write something. It was very inspirational. I was working on a song then, but his energy came through the mail and I got inspired by that, so it went pretty quickly. It was a cool idea. You had to do it the right way in the end, but I think we definitely [did]."

For "Dominion", HAMMERFALL re-teamed with James Michael to do vocals at Red Level Three studios, and Fredrik Nordström of Studio Fredman at Castle Black Studios for the instruments on the powerful 12-song collection.

Oscar stated: "'Good is not good enough; it has to be great.' This is the mantra we have applied to every aspect of making this album, from the songwriting and rehearsals to the production and the performance of each member. The result is 'Dominion', a powerful force of nature that cannot be stopped. Once you hear it, you will understand."

The band has also unveiled the album cover art and track listing for "Dominion". The artwork was created by renowned visual artist Samwise Didier.

"Dominion" track listing:

01. Never Forgive, Never Forget
02. Dominion
03. Testify
04. One Against The World
05. (We Make) Sweden Rock
06. Second To One
07. Scars Of A Generation
08. Dead By Dawn
09. Battleworn
10. Bloodline
11. Chain Of Command
12. And Yet I Smile

HAMMERFALL's last album, "Built To Last", was released in November 2016 via Napalm Records.

In 2017, drummer David Wallin returned to HAMMERFALL — nine months after he left the group in order to focus on his family life.

Find more on Hammerfall
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email