JAG PANZER Releases Lyric Video For Cover Of Irish Folk Song 'Foggy Dew'

August 25, 2017

Colorado metallers JAG PANZER have released the official lyric video for their cover of "Foggy Dew", an Irish folk song about the 1916 Easter Rising. The track is taken from the band's new album, "The Deviant Chord", which will be released on September 29 via SPV/Steamhammer.

The "Foggy Dew" lyric video was once again created by JAG PANZER guitarist Mark Briody, who said: "'Foggy Dew' was a song I grew up with. My father used to sing it often. He also told me stories of the Easter Rising in Ireland, the same stories his father told him.

"It was a challenge to record a classic song that has already been covered many times. But I think we were able to bring a different flavor to the song."

For JAG PANZER, team spirit is more important than anything else. Without team spirit, Briody would no longer see any reason for continuing the band. "We're like a family, we've all known each other for many years," he says and looks back at the years between 2011 and 2013 when JAG PANZER were on the brink of calling it a day. "Two bandmembers quit and there was little interest in hiring new people and starting over. Introducing new musicians would have been tough, so we decided to disband." But then the American power metal act's strong fan base made itself heard, causing the spark to be rekindled. Briody explains: "We had a lot of interest in our early albums, so my bandmates soon noticed that people were still listening to JAG PANZER, that the audience was still there. We started talking on the phone more and more. Some excellent gig offers arrived so we decided we should get back together."

"The Deviant Chord" is a veritable metal manifesto, consisting of ten awesome songs featuring all those typical JAG PANZER strengths that the band's fans have come to appreciate. Together with band members John Tetley (bass),Harry "The Tyrant" Conklin (vocals),Rikard Stjernquist (drums) and Joey Tafolla (lead guitar),who has returned to the fold, Briody has recorded an album that impresses in every respect and that benefits from the outstanding qualities of all five band members.

"John does our 'quality control,' meaning that he makes sure every song we do is the best it can be. Harry is a musical genius. He's been singing since we were kids, he's very skilled in vocal arrangements and vocal recording techniques. This skill makes him a very big contributor in the songwriting. Rikard is all about drumming. He's been drumming since he was a small child and has never stopped. He grew up living all around the world and he has always been in a band. Joey is the classic lead player in every sense of the world. He has amazing skill on the guitar plus an outstanding stage presence. His playing makes every song better."

"The Deviant Chord" will be available as a CD digipak (including poster) and double LP colored version as well as for download and streaming. The cover artwork was created by Serbian artist Dusan Markovic and reflects the album's haunting atmosphere perfectly. Briody gives also some hints: "Fans of both science fiction and real-life scientists should look closely at the new JAG PANZER album as the band has placed a few hidden tributes in the album art!"

There can be no doubt: the spark has rekindled the fire in JAG PANZER and it's burning brightly. Briody says: "The mood in the band is very focused. This album was the first time we did multiple demos for every song. So everyone has been very involved in every step. Each band member got to see a song grow and change with time. That's very exciting for us. And we're all excited to unleash 'The Deviant Chord' unto the world."

"The Deviant Chord" track listing:

01. Born Of The Flame (4:00)
02. Far Beyond All Fear (3:49)
03. The Deviant Chord (5:37)
04. Blacklist (4:19)
05. Foggy Dew (3:20)
06. Divine Intervention (3:30)
07. Long Awaited Kiss (6:16)
08. Salacious Behavior (4:07)
09. Fire Of Our Spirit (4:37)
10. Dare (5:17)

Find more on Jag panzer
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email