JOE PERRY Guitarist Talks AEROSMITH Tour, BONEYARD Hot Sauce

October 3, 2009

Joe Perry of AEROSMITH recently talked to Sirius XM about AEROSMITH's latest tour, where the band played the classic "Toys In The Attic" album from start to finish, and their plans to play other early LPs in their entirety. He also discussed his Boneyard hot sauce and upcoming culinary products from the Boneyard line. Watch the clips below.

Perry's fifth solo album, "Have Guitar, Will Travel", will be released on October 6 via Roman Records. The hard driving, ten-song, in your face, collection features Perry's trademark rock and blues ferocity. Recorded this past spring at the Boneyard, Perry's state-of-the-art home studio, where AEROSMITH's "Honkin' On Bobo" and "Just Push Play" were recorded, "Have Guitar, Will Travel" is entirely written and produced by Perry.

"Have Guitar, Will Travel" track listing:

01. We've Got a Long Way To Go
02. Slingshot
03. Do You Wonder
04. Somebody's Gonna Get (Their Head Kicked In Tonight)
05. Heaven and Hell
06. No Surprise
07. Wooden Ships
08. Oh Lord (21 Grams)
09. Scare The Cat
10. Freedom

Check out audio samples at this location.

"We've Got A Long Way To Go", the CDs first single, showcases the voice of a young German singer known as Hagen, found completely by chance on YouTube by Joe's wife Billie. "I first called him from Cleveland when I went to perform at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame jam with Jeff Beck, Jimmy Page, Ron Wood, Flea and METALLICA," said Perry. "It took several minutes to convince him that it wasn't a prank call, but a true invitation to audition to sing on the CD." Hagen mans the microphone for five tracks, while Perry sings lead on four. The remaining tenth song is an instrumental entitled "Wooden Ships".

A six-week Twitter search was conducted to find the CDs title. The winner, out of nearly 2000 entries, was Joe Piscitelli, who used a play on the old CBS television program "Have Gun – Will Travel".

The release of "Have Guitar, Will Travel" follows self-produced solo releases including "Let The Music Do The Talking" (1980),"Once A Rocker, Always A Rocker" (1983),"I've Got The Rock 'N' Rolls Again" (1981) and 2005's "Joe Perry", which received universal critical praise and earned Perry his first solo Grammy nomination for "Best Instrumental Song" ("Mercy").

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email