KANSAS: Live Version Of 'Carry On Wayward Son' From 'Leftoverture Live & Beyond'

September 29, 2017

KANSAS, America's legendary progressive rock band, will release its new live album "Leftoverture Live & Beyond", on November 3. This is the first live album since 2009 for the band that has sold more than 30 million albums worldwide, and is famous for classic hits such as "Carry On Wayward Son" and "Dust In The Wind", as well as progressive epics like "Miracles Out Of Nowhere".

"Leftoverture Live & Beyond", produced by Jeff Glixman, features nineteen songs selected from twelve shows recorded during KANSAS's spring 2017 "Leftoverture 40th Anniversary Tour". The set list includes classic hits, deep cuts, new songs from 2016's studio album "The Prelude Implicit" and culminates with the band's sextuple-platinum breakthrough album, "Leftoverture", performed in its entirety.

The first preview of "Leftoverture Live & Beyond", in the form of a live version of "Carry On Wayward Son", is available below.

Coinciding with the 40th anniversary of "Leftoverture" and the release of "The Prelude Implicit", KANSAS embarked on their biggest headlining tour in decades. The overwhelming success of that tour led the band, along with InsideOut Music, to release selected songs from the tour as a live album.

"When we saw how much our fans enjoyed the 'Leftoverture 40th Anniversary Tour' shows, we knew we had to record a live album," said KANSAS drummer Phil Ehart. "When it came to finding someone to produce it, we thought the best possible person would be the guy that produced 'Leftoverture' forty years ago. So, we called Jeff Glixman!"

"I'm really excited with how this live album sounds," adds Glixman. "This band is on fire. Producing this live album was truly an undertaking, but I am confident that KANSAS fans will enjoy the end result."

"Leftoverture Live & Beyond" will be distributed by The Orchard. The album will be available as a double CD digipak, four 180-gram-vinyl boxed set, and digitally on iTunes and Google Play.

"Leftoverture Live & Beyond" track listing:

01. Icarus II
02. Icarus
03. Point of Know Return
04. Paradox
05. Journey from Mariabronn
06. Lamplight Symphony
07. Dust in the Wind
08. Rhythm in the Spirit
09. The Voyage of Eight Eighteen
10. Section 60
11. Carry On Wayward Son
12. The Wall
13. What's on My Mind
14. Miracles out of Nowhere
15. Opus Insert
16. Questions of My Childhood
17. Cheyenne Anthem
18. Magnum Opus
19. Portrait (He Knew)

KANSAS will resume the "Leftoverture 40th Anniversary Tour" this fall.

Find more on Kansas
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email