KATAKLYSM Frontman's EX DEO Project: Listen To New Song 'The Rise Of Hannibal'

December 16, 2016

EX DEO, the reactivated Ancient Roman-themed arsenal fronted by KATAKLYSM singer Maurizio Iacono, will release its third album, "The Immortal Wars", on February 24, 2017 via Napalm Records. The cover artwork was created by renowned artist Eliran Kantor, who has previously worked with TESTAMENT, HATEBREED, SOULFLY and KATAKLYSM.

The song "The Rise Of Hannibal", taken from "The Immortal Wars", can be streamed below.

The CD's main concept deals with Punic Wars, a series of three wars fought between Rome and Carthage from 264 B.C. to 146 B.C. The epic legendary wars come to life and bring the showdown between two of the greatest generals that ever walked the earth, Hannibal and Scipio Africanus, both of whom rewrote the rules of war and strategies. The album also features other unexplored subjects on Ancient Rome surely to raise the epic level to the maximum.

"The Immortal Wars" track listing:

01. The Rise Of Hannibal
02. Hispania (The Siege Of Saguntum)
03. Crossing Of The Alps
04. Suavetaurilia (Intermezzo)
05. Cato Major: Carthago Delenda Est!
06. Ad Victoriam (The Battle Of Zama)
07. The Spoils Of War
08. The Roman

KATAKLYSM guitarist Jean-Fran├žois Dagenais once again took care of production duties, while Jens Bogren fine-tuned the whole affair at his mixing desk in Sweden.

Says EX DEO: "The new EX DEO album, 'The Immortal Wars', is complete, it's a massive wall of sound and it will make our rivals in 'Roman-hating' bands sound like schoolgirls. The artwork is complete and the word 'epic' and 'dramatic' cannot be expressed more. The music will bring your urge to got to war on behalf of Rome to a level 10. People of the eternal city, feel the might, the album you have waiting for so long is here .. ready, strong and WILL destroy everything in it's path. Ave Roma!"

EX DEO's sophomore album, "Caligvla", was released in August 2012 via Napalm.


Find more on Kataklysm
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email