MACHINE HEAD Kicks Off Series Of Intimate Warm-Up Shows In Glasgow (Video)

September 1, 2022

San Francisco Bay Area metallers MACHINE HEAD launched a short series of intimate warm-up shows in Scotland for their upcoming European tour last night (Wednesday, August 31) at the Garage in Glasgow.

The band kicked off the evening with a cover of METALLICA's "Creeping Death" and ran through a 16-song set that included three tracks from their just-released tenth studio album, "Of Kingdom And Crown": "Become The Firestorm", "Rotten" and "Choke On The Ashes Of Your Hate".

MACHINE HEAD's setlist was as follows, according to

01. Creeping Death (METALLICA cover)
02. Aesthetics Of Hate
03. Old
04. Imperium
05. Bite The Bullet
06. Killers & Kings
07. Ten Ton Hammer
08. Desire To Fire
09. Become The Firestorm
10. Rotten
11. I Am Hell (Sonata In C#)
12. Choke On The Ashes Of Your Hate
13. Locust
14. From This Day
15. Davidian
16. Halo

MACHINE HEAD will also play at the Ironworks in Inverness on September 2, Lemon Tree in Aberdeen on September 4, Fat Sams in Dundee on September 5 and Liquid Rooms in Edinburgh on September 6.

MACHINE HEAD's European tour with AMON AMARTH, "Vikings & Lionhearts", will kick off on September 8 at Nottingham, United Kingdom's Motorpoint Arena. Support on the trek will come from THE HALO EFFECT, the new band featuring five former members of IN FLAMES: Peter Iwers, Daniel Svensson, Jesper Strömblad, Niclas Engelin and Mikael Stanne.

"Of Kingdom And Crown" was released on August 26 via Nuclear Blast/Imperium Recordings. The follow-up to 2018's "Catharsis", "Of Kingdom And Crown" includes the three songs that were featured on last year's "Arrows In Words From The Sky" single: "Become The Firestorm", "Rotten" and "Arrows In Words From The Sky". Much of the new MACHINE HEAD album was recorded at Sharkbite Studios in Oakland, California with engineer/producer Zack Ohren.

In November 2020, MACHINE HEAD released a single, "My Hands Are Empty", via Nuclear Blast. The song marked the first musical collaboration between Flynn and original "Burn My Eyes" guitarist Logan Mader in 24 years.

"My Hands Are Empty" was just one in a line of singles to be released by MACHINE HEAD, which issued "Do Or Die" in October 2019, "Circle The Drain" in February 2020, and the two-song digital single "Civil Unrest", consisting of "Stop The Bleeding" and "Bulletproof", in June 2020. "Stop The Bleeding" featured guest vocals from KILLSWITCH ENGAGE frontman Jesse Leach, and was written and recorded just days after the murders of George Floyd and Ahmaud Arbery.

Some pics of the gig and mayhem and haos ensures when John Gouck Floyd Barber and Phil Atkins hit the Glasgow cathouse.

Posted by Kenny King on Thursday, September 1, 2022

Some merch from last night

Posted by Kenny King on Thursday, September 1, 2022

Find more on Machine head
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).