METALLICA Performs 'Enter Sandman' Using Children's Musical Instruments (Video)

November 17, 2016

METALLICA performed its classic song "Enter Sandman" using children's musical instruments during an appearance on last night's edition of "The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon". They were joined by the house band THE ROOTS and host Fallon.

Instrument list below:

* James Hetfield - Vocals, Toy Clarinet
* Jimmy Fallon - Vocals, Bass Drum, Casio Keyboard, Kazoo
* Lars Ulrich - Fisher Price Drum, Toy Cymbals
* Kirk Hammett - Melodica
* Robert Trujillo - Baby Electric Axe
* Questlove - Hand Clappers, Kazoo
* Kamal Gray - Xylophone
* James Poyser - Melodica
* Captain Kirk - Ukulele
* Tuba Gooding Jr. - Kazoo, Banana Shaker, Apple Shaker
* Mark Kelley - Kazoo
* Frank Knuckles - Bongos
* Black Thought - Tambourine, Brown Hat

As you read this, METALLICA is in the midst of releasing music videos for every song on its new album, "Hardwired... To Self-Destruct". Half the clips emerged every two hours on Wednesday (November 16),starting with "Dream No More" at noon ET, while the rest are expected to arrive at the same rate on Thursday (November 17).

The clips will finish premiering just as the clock hits midnight Friday (November 18) in New Zealand, when the new album will be officially available worldwide. Drummer Lars Ulrich told The Pulse Of Radio that METALLICA didn't have a plan in mind when they began to write the album. "There wasn't really any sort of sitdown powwows or talks or battle cries — I mean, it wasn't like here's the big kind of blueprint," he said. "We just started making music and writing songs. There was no big band meetings about 'what's the direction of the record' or any of that kind of stuff. It just sort of happened organically, really."

The videos were all filmed around the globe with various directors, with each one debuting through a different website or media outlet.

The clips that premiered on Wednesday were "Dream No More", "Confusion", "ManUNkind", "Now That We're Dead", "Here Comes Revenge" and "Am I Savage". Videos debuting on Thursday include "Halo On Fire", "Murder One", "Spit Out The Bone" and the bonus track "Lords Of Summer".

The new clips follow the previously released videos for "Hardwired", "Moth Into Flame" and "Atlas, Rise!"

"Hardwired... To Self-Destruct" arrives on Friday as a double album featuring 12 songs and 80 minutes of music.

Find more on Metallica
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).