MUDVAYNE Frontman Sees The (Black) Light

November 13, 2009

The Pulse of Radio reports: MUDVAYNE revealed the cover art for its upcoming self-titled album earlier this week, but the catch is that the artwork will only be visible under a black light. And not just the cover art either: the entire packaging will be white, with everything — including lyrics, credits, inside art and photos — only seen with a black light. Frontman Chad Gray told The Pulse of Radio how the idea came together. "Because we did the black album with (second album) 'The End Of All Things To Come', with this record I wanted to do a white record. So I started talking to some people in the art departments about things, and wanted to know if they made a black light reflective ink. It turns out they actually do have an ink or whatever, and it's awesome, because the record is, in the truest sense, it's a white album. If you pull out the inlay card, it's all white until you put a black light on it. And when you put a black light on it, everything shows up."

MUDVAYNE's new album, its fifth studio effort, will be out on December 22.

The record will come in four versions: a standard CD, a glow-in-the-dark vinyl edition, a limited edition of 100,000 copies featuring a keychain-sized black light, and a super limited edition of 1,000 copies containing the album on CD, the vinyl version, a 24-inch black light, a black light reactive poster and a black light reactive decal.

All the artwork has been done by noted tattoo artist Paul Booth.

"Mudvayne" track listing:

01. Beautiful And Strange
02. 1000 Mile Journey
03. Scream With Me
04. Closer
05. Heard It All Before
06. I Can't Wait
07. Beyond The Pale
08. All Talk
09. Out To Pasture
10. Burn The Bridge
11. Dead Inside

"Scream With Me":

"Heard It All Before":

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email