MY DYING BRIDE Shares Music Video For New Single 'The 2nd Of Three Bells'

March 15, 2024

British death-doom legends MY DYING BRIDE will release their 15th studio album, "A Mortal Binding", on April 19 via Nuclear Blast Records. Today, the Yorkshire based sextet has shared the second single from the record. The solemn, mournful track titled "The 2nd Of Three Bells" comes accompanied by a richly gothic video directed by Daniel Gray.

MY DYING BRIDE's Andrew Craighan commented: "'The 2nd Of Three Bells' see the band in a more musical performance role juxtaposed with artistic metaphor of the struggles between the deathknell itself and the lust for life's brief joys."

When the LP's first single, "Thornwyck Hymn", was made available last month, MY DYING BRIDE's Aaron Stainthorpe said in a statement: "Set upon the rugged coast of Yorkshire, Thornwyck village has spent an eternity being haunted by the chill waters that wash its shore — and the hidden folk who dwell in the salty depths. Woe betide anyone who fares into the briny sea, or even steels to close to its edge for they may never set foot back on mother earth."

"A Mortal Binding", the much-anticipated follow-up to 2019's "The Ghost Of Orion", finds the Yorkshire-based quintet delighting in anxiety, loss, and toil to resplendent effect. From the raw distress of "Her Dominion" and twisted horror of "Thornwyck Hymn" to the funerary violins of the 11-minute monolith "The Apocalyptist" and the classic-feeling "The 2nd Of Three Bells", "A Mortal Binding" is pinnacle MY DYING BRIDE. If "Songs Of Darkness, Words Of Light" (2004) elevated the band to new heights and "A Map Of All Our Failures" (2012) expanded upon the group's mid-tens grandeur, then "A Mortal Binding" stages MY DYING BRIDE's next exultant phase of elegiac misery.

"A Mortal Binding" track listing:

01. Her Dominion
02. Thornwyck Hymn
03. The 2nd Of Three Bells
04. Unthroned Creed
05. The Apocalyptist
06. A Starving Heart
07. Crushed Embers

MY DYING BRIDE hired "The Ghost Of Orion" studio wizard Mark Mynett to produce, mix, and master "A Mortal Binding". The group holed up at Mynett's Mynetaur Productions (PARADISE LOST, ROTTING CHRIST) in Manchester, U.K., where they tracked the album consecutively from July to September 2023.

For over three decades, MY DYING BRIDE has been the voice of the hopeless and broken, combining haunting sounds with crushing misery and melancholy. With their signature sound they've shaped the doom metal scene like barely any other act and integrated both soft violin melodies and violent death metal growls into their music, while always staying strictly loyal to themselves. And since the early Nineties, the band's masterminds and founding members Andrew Craighan and Aaron Stainthorpe forged beautiful grief into studio albums with songs of epic length. As MY DYING BRIDE edge past their 33rd year, they're aging gracefully, remaining as vital and heart-wrenching as ever.


Aaron Stainthorpe - vocals
Andrew Craighan - guitars
Lena Abé - bass
Shaun MacGowan - keyboards, violin
Neil Blanchett - guitars
Dan Mullins - drums

Find more on My dying bride
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).