OTTTO Featuring Son Of METALLICA's ROBERT TRUJILLO: 'Skyscraper' Video Released

August 5, 2023

OTTTO, the three-piece group featuring Tye Trujillo (son of METALLICA bassist Robert Trujillo),has released a music video for "Skyscraper" from the Venice Beach, California-based band's recently released debut album, "Life Is A Game".

Paul Marchand, who is well known for his music documentaries, including "Jaco" and "Selena Gomez: My Mind & Me", directed the video that, in a nod to the album title, sees the trio playing a board game dubbed "Skyscraper" with each roll of the dice bringing chaos reigning down.

"OTTTO rocks," says Marchand. "But man, to be honest we all had a lot of milk to drink that day. I just remember the swell was down and the surf zombies came inland. Someone brought a board game? This kinda stuff just happens in Topanga. I think it was a Tuesday."

OTTTO has received widespread praise for "Life Is A Game", with Consequence describing the 10-song LP as "fun, unpretentious thrash," and Metal Injection saying: "OTTTO are destined for stardom… this trio has massive talent that is undeniable…" The band previously released a pair of videos from the new album, including the elaborate, carnival-themed video for "Dance Of The Dead", and the Dogtown-infused clip for "My Pain".

OTTTO will kick off a North American tour with BASTARDANE, the band featuring Castor Hetfield, son of METALLICA frontman James Hetfield, on Saturday, August 5 at the Gramercy Theatre in New York City.

OTTTO, which also features Triko Chavez (drums) and Bryan Noah Ferretti (vocals/guitar),released its self-titled debut EP in 2020, followed by multiple live outings, including slots at Lollapalooza and BottleRock, opened for SUICIDAL TENDENCIES, and saw Tye contribute the guitar parts for cultural phenomenon Eddie Munson in "Stranger Things". Most recently, the band issued the Record Store Day-exclusive EP "Locos Live In Venice", which was recorded at the venerable Juice magazine headquarters, right off of the Venice Beach boardwalk.

"Life Is A Game" album cover features artwork by Pascal Brun and Marcel Szerdahelyi.

"Life Is A Game" track listing:

01. My Pain
02. Skyscraper
03. Night Howlers
04. Scopa
05. Let Them Return
06. Ride Low
07. Dance Of The Dead
08. Trip
09. Cosmos
10. The Void

Photo credit: John Gilhooley

Find more on Metallica
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).