January 9, 2024

Look for Billy Morrison to release "The Morrison Project" — his third solo album and first since 2015 — on April 19 via The Label Group/Virgin Music Group.

The British guitarist, singer, and songwriter — primarily known as Billy Idol's rhythm guitar player for the past 15 years alongside lead guitarist Steve Stevens, and for his previous role as bassist in THE CULT — has assembled an electrifying 12 songs including guest performances by Ozzy Osbourne, Billy Idol, DMC, Al Jourgensen, Steve Vai, Steve Stevens, Linda Perry, Tommy Clufetos, John 5, and more. The album's first single, "Drowning", is out February 23, accompanied by a video.

"The Morrison Project" was produced by Billy Morrison, mixed by Barry Pointer and mastered by Dave Donnelly. All the songs on the album — recorded in Los Angeles at various studios — were written by Billy Morrison in collaboration with his guests.

"One of the greatest things about writing this album was being able to let my guest singers do their own thing," says Morrison. "I would send them the track with no guidelines and just had them do whatever they felt. I think that gave those songs an energy and a life force that would not be there if I had tried to get involved in their lyrics or their melodies. And I loved everything they all did!"

He adds: "With the songs that I sing on this record, I wanted to write from an observational standpoint about the state of the world, the news outlets, the information flow (or lack of it) and the general sense of dis-ease that seems to be all-pervading right now."

How did "The Morrison Project" come together? "I truly believe that making music without any preconceptions or goals yields the most creative and enjoyable results," Billy says. "And that is exactly how this record came to life. Making music with Erik (Eldenius) and Jeordie (White) during Covid, and mixing different musical styles started my journey towards this collection of songs that ended up featuring a lot of my friends."

"The Morrison Project" features 12 original tracks:

* "Drowning" (written by Billy Morrison/Erik Eldenius/Jeordie White)

* "Crack Cocaine" (featuring Ozzy Osbourne and Steve Stevens with Tommy Clufetos on drums) (written by Billy Morrison/ Ozzy Osbourne/Steve Stevens)

* "It's Come To This" (written by Billy Morrison/Erik Eldenius)

* "The Ayes Have It" (featuring Al Jourgensen and John 5 with Roy Mayorga on drums) (written by Billy Morrison)

* "Dystopia" (written by Billy Morrison/Erik Eldenius/Jeordie White)

* "Incite The Watch" (featuring Corey Taylor and Steve Vai) (written by Billy Morrison, Erik Eldenius, Jeordie White, Corey Taylor)

* "Puppets On A String" (written by Billy Morrison/Erik Eldenius/Jeordie White)

* "Just Like A Movie" (featuring D.M.C. and Persia Numan with Erik Eldenius on drums) (written by Billy Morrison/Erik Eldenius/Jeordie White/ Darryl McDaniels/Persia Numan)

* "The Sound Of Freedom" (written by Billy Morrison, Erik Eldenius, Jeordie White)

* "Mr. Dream" (featuring Billy Idol and Steve Stevens) (written by Billy Morrison, Erik Eldenius, Jeordie White, Steve Stevens, Billy Idol)

* "We Are The Dead" (written by Billy Morrison, Erik Eldenius, Jeordie White)

* "Chasing Shadows" (featuring Linda Perry) (written by Billy Morrison)

Photo credit: Jane Stuart @JaneStuartPhotos

Find more on Ozzy osbourne
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).