PALLBEARER Releases 'Dropout' Mini-Documentary

April 27, 2018

Little Rock, Arkansas-based ruminant progressive doom quartet PALLBEARER recently premiered a new track titled "Dropout" as the 53rd installment of the Adult Swim Singles Program. The song, which is available digitally today, represents a subtle expansion of the singular doom-prog metal sound the quartet is known for.

To coincide with this release, the band has also made an accompanying mini-documentary which gives a behind-the-scenes look at the making of "Dropout", recorded at Fellowship Hall Sound in Little Rock.

Comments the band: "We have almost always written music intended to exist as part of an album, with common musical and lyrical threads that tie many elements together into one release. Being freed from those confines in recording this song allowed us to explore themes and immediacy that might not have been uncovered in our more typical 'large format' composition process."

"Dropout" follows the band's 2017 critically acclaimed album "Heartless", which was recorded entirely to analogue tape at Fellowship Hall Sound in Little Rock, Arkansas between June and August 2016. The record was produced by PALLBEARER, and mixed by widely known producer Joe Barresi (TOOL, MELVINS, QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE, FU MANCHU). Engineering was handled by Jason Weinheimer and Zach Reeves, and mastered by Grammy-winning mastering engineer Dave Collins (BLACK SABBATH, ALICE COOPER, SOUNDGARDEN, METALLICA).

Initially formed in 2008, PALLBEARER grew from the fertile underground metal scene of Little Rock, Arkansas — releasing their debut full-length, "Sorrow And Extinction", in early 2012. The record made an immediate and immense impact on die-hard doom fans and metal critics alike, also forming the four-piece fans outside of the metal scene. Hailed by Rolling Stone as the #1 metal album of 2012, the album also received the coveted Best New Music stamp of approval from Pitchfork and landed the band on end of year lists at SPIN and NPR.

Their formidable sophomore record, 2014's "Foundations Of Burden" featured on countless critics' end-of-year lists and cemented their reputation as an unstoppable and emotive force — driving doom beyond its imagined limits, carving themselves an entirely original path through the realm of heavy music. The record charted in the Billboard Top 100, achieving Pitchfork's Best New Music accolade and Decibel's highly honored "Album Of The Year" award.


Brett Campbell - Lead Vocals, Electric & Acoustic Guitars, Synthesizers
Devin Holt - Electric & Acoustic Guitars, Vocals
Mark Lierly - Percussion
Joseph D. Rowland - Electric Bass, Vocals, Synthesizers

Photo credit: Diana Lee Zadlo

Find more on Pallbearer
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email