PRO-PAIN Pay Tribute To Their Influences On 'Run For Cover'

July 25, 2003

PRO-PAIN are set to return to action on August 26 with the release of their ninth studio album, "Run For Cover" (Spitfire). The album's unusual concept, containing cover songs from artists who have influenced the band, makes "Run For Cover" a special recording — adding to the band's already respected decade-plus career.

Forgoing the predictable, PRO-PAIN has aligned an impressive and wide array of songs from artists ranging from metal stalwarts SLAYER ("South of Heaven"),MOTÖRHEAD ("Iron Fist") and CELTIC FROST ("Circle of the Tyrants") to punk/hardcore trailblazers DISCHARGE ("Never Again"),NEGATIVE APPROACH ("Nothing"),OPERATION IVY ("The Crowd"),BLACK FLAG ("Damaged II") and AGNOSTIC FRONT ("Your Mistake"). The album also includes a surprise remake from founder/front-man/bassist Gary Meskil's former band CRUMBSUCKERS ("Just Sit There") and a spirited version of LIFE OF AGONY's "Weeds".

"PRO-PAIN has never been known for being much of a 'cover band,' and as a matter of fact we have never even done any cover songs until now," notes Meskil. "So, this 'lack of' has provided us with the perfect opportunity and platform to pay tribute to some of our favorite bands who have influenced us musically, spiritually, and intellectually over the years."

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email