PROBOT: A Tribute To Underground Metal

June 18, 2003

Former NIRVANA drummer Dave Grohl has confirmed to that his much-anticipated metal side project PROBOT will finally surface in early fall on Southern Lord Recordings.

"It's not unlike [SANTANA's 'Supernatural'] record in that it really kick ass, but it's not the kind of thing that you'd expect," Grohl said of the album. "There's a certain kind of person that will like the PROBOT record, and there aren't that many of those people. ... I mean, it's not meant to, like, make money."

PROBOT's debut CD — which features Grohl, ZWAN guitarist Matt Sweeney and FOO FIGHTERS producer Adam Kasper accompanying SLAYER's Tom Araya, MOTÖRHEAD's Lemmy Kilmister and others singers — has been in the works for much of the past three years, and was previously rumored to be coming out through either Roadrunner Records or RCA Records (via Grohl's Roswell imprint).

"After recording a bunch of it, a friend of mine said, 'Wow, you know what would be really cool is if you could get a different vocalist to sing on each thing.' And then I picked all of my favorite vocalists from that specific genre of music, underground metal from like '83 to '89," Grohl explained.

Among the tracks that are set to appear on the effort are the following:

01. Dictatorsaurus (feat. Snake)
02. Centuries Of Sin (feat. Cronos)
03. Access Babylon (feat. Mike Dean)
04. Sweet Dreams (feat. King Diamond)
05. Ice Cold Man (feat. Lee Dorrian)
06. My Tortured Soul (feat. Eric Wagner)
07. Big Sky (feat. Tom G. Fischer)
08. Emerald Lies (feat. Wino)
09. Shake Your Blood (feat. Lemmy)

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).