PROCOL HARUM To Release First New Studio Album In 14 Years

January 31, 2017

The brand new studio album "Novum" (on CD and 2LP) by PROCOL HARUM will be released on April 21 via Eagle Records. The band's first studio album in fourteen years, and thirteenth overall, follows 2003's "The Well's On Fire". "Novum" is released as the band celebrates its 50th anniversary, while also undertaking a European tour. The album release is preceded by that of the single "Sunday Morning" on April 7.

Half a century ago, powered by the huge and ongoing success of their debut single "A Whiter Shade Of Pale", PROCOL HARUM went on to help define the progressive rock genre while at the same time embracing their roots in blues and soul. "A Whiter Shade Of Pale" continues to be one of the best-selling singles of all time. The cover artwork of "Novum" by Julia Brown references elements of the sleeve of that album — the band's eponymous debut album in 1967.

PROCOL HARUM has been an evolving musical force from the first performance in '67, but always led by founding member, singer, pianist and composer Gary Brooker. Most of today's lineup has been playing together since the early '90s and it includes bassist Matt Pegg (JETHRO TULL, Ian Brown),drummer Geoff Dunn (Jimmy Page, Dave Stewart, Van Morrison),guitarist Geoff Whitehorn (Roger Chapman, Paul Rodgers, Roger Daltrey) and Hammond organ player Josh Phillips (Pete Townsend and Midge Ure),but to all their fans, they are the real PROCOL HARUM.

"Our last studio album was in 2003, and with 2017 being 50 years of PROCOL HARUM, something special was needed, which has resulted in a new album of new songs with the band as we've stood for the past decade, all contributing with producer Dennis Weinreich to make what I believe to be one of the finest PROCOL HARUM albums ever — 'Novum' — just listen," states Gary Brooker.

"Novum" sees a new direction for PROCOL HARUM, with the songs being written and created by the whole band, with most songs featuring words by Pete Brown, most famous for his songwriting collaboration with the members of CREAM. This has given a different feel to the songs, retaining the thought provoking content for which the band has always been known but with a different slant and elements of humor.

"Novum" marks not only an incredible fifty years of amazing music, but also the next step for this seminal band. This long-awaited collection of brand new songs is sure to be welcomed by PROCOL HARUM's devoted fanbase.

"Novum" track listing:

01. I Told On You
02. Last Chance Motel
03. Image Of The Beast
04. Soldier
05. Don't Get Caught
06. Neighbour
07. Sunday Morning
08. Businessman
09. Can't Say That
10. The Only One
11. Somewhen


Find more on Procol harum
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).