QUEEN + ADAM LAMBERT: Trailer For 'Live in Japan' DVD, Blu-Ray

November 23, 2016

"Queen + Adam Lambert - Live in Japan" will be released in Japan on December 20, 2016. This multi-format release captures the band's headliner performance that took place on August 17, 2014 at Marine Stadium, the main stage of Japan's largest rock festival, Summer Sonic, in its entirety.

The combination of QUEEN's long and legendary standing with the young talent of Adam Lambert made for an unforgettable show. The stadium was filled to the brim with fans eager to see the first live show of QUEEN + ADAM LAMBERT performing together on stage in Japan. The show itself, preluded by "Procession", opened with "Now I'm Here", and what followed was a performance of hit after hit, such as "Another One Bites The Dust", "Killer Queen", "Under Pressure", "I Was Born To Love You", "Radio Ga Ga", "Bohemian Rhapsody" and "We Are The Champions". Another highlight of the night was the performance of "Teo Toriatte (Let Us Cling Together)", a song written by guitarist Brian May especially for the Japanese fans and includes Japanese lyrics.

Even in 2016, two years since that show, May recalls: "We all thought it was quite a difficult gig. The audience was wonderful, but it was so hot and so humid, it was very difficult to play, but when we saw the video, we thought that it was great and the interaction with the crowd was great." Lambert also recalls: "The Japanese audience was so passionate, so emotional. You could feel the connection. And it's different than in other countries; there is something very special there." Drummer Roger Taylor adds: "The audience reaction was fantastic, and it was such a young audience, which was a big surprise for us."

Since that summer of 2014, QUEEN + ADAM LAMBERT have once again earned much critical acclaim from Japanese media and fans alike with their live performances, having successfully wrapped up a three-night run at Nippon Budokan in September 2016.

"Queen + Adam Lambert - Live in Japan", released exclusively in Japan in various formats, will surely be yet another memorable release for the Japanese fans who wish to experience and relive such a special night.

Release formats:

* Blu-ray
* DVD+Live CD
* Blu-ray+Live CD
* DVD or Blu-ray+Live CD+Tshirt
* Super Deluxe Box set (including DVD or Blu-ray+Live CD+2LP+Tshirt+Tote Bag+Photo Book)

A trailer for "Queen + Adam Lambert - Live in Japan" is available below.

May described Lambert as the only singer the band had found capable of filling the shoes of iconic frontman Freddie Mercury, who died in 1991 of complications from to AIDS. "Adam is the first person we've encountered who can do all the QUEEN catalogue without blinking," said May. "He is a gift from God." Taylor echoed the guitarist's sentiments, adding: "[Adam's] incredibly musical, and we certainly take anything he says quite seriously."

Lambert, for his part, downplayed the Mercury comparisons, saying: "There's never going to be another, and I'm not replacing him. That's not what I'm doing. I'm trying to keep the memory alive, and remind people how amazing he was, without imitating him. I'm trying to share with the audience how much he inspired me."


Find more on Queen
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).