Resurrected VIKING To Release Long-Awaited Comeback Album 'No Child Left Behind' In March

February 21, 2015

Los Angeles thrashers VIKING will release their long-awaited comeback album, "No Child Left Behind", on March 4. The CD features drummer Gene Hoglan (DETHKLOK, DARK ANGEL, STRAPPING YOUNG LAD),bassist Michael Gonzalez (ex-DARK ANGEL),and original VIKING member Ron Daniel Eriksen on vocals and guitar.

"No Child Left Behind" track listing:

01. 9:02 On Flight 182
02. By The Brundlefly
03. Blood Eagle
04. Debt To Me
05. An Ideal Opportunity
06. Eaten By A Bear
07. Wretched Old Mildred
08. A Thousand Reasons I Hate You
09. Helen Behind The Door
10. Burning From Within
11. An Ideal Opportunity

To pre-order a copy, visit

An audio preview of the album is available below.

According to a press release, the song "An Ideal Opportunity" thunders throughout with Hoglan's ferocious double kicks from the start, and periodically breaks into the frantic thrash metal speeds listeners have grown to expect from VIKING. The heavy riffing, screams, and solos also mean old-school thrashers won't be disappointed with the new offering. Lyrically, the tune addresses suicidal thoughts from a first-person perspective.

In an interview with The Metal Crypt, Eriksen said of the song, "'An Ideal Opportunity' has probably the most transparent lyrics I've ever written. I've struggled with major depression my whole life — it's just something that happens chemically — and I've learned to recognize it for what it is. It's like a storm front that moves in and covers me in darkness for a few hours or a few days and then fades away and I'm fine. One day I decided that if I was going to have to put up with this crap, at least I could get a song out of it. The next time the storm started moving in, I started writing down everything I was feeling."

Founded in the spring of 1986 in Los Angeles, VIKING released two full-length albums on the Metal Blade label, 1987's "Do Or Die" and 1989's "Man Of Straw".

Long hailed as one of the most rare and hard to find speed/thrash metal albums by collectors, "Man Of Straw" was re-released in 2006 via Lost And Found Records. This fully licensed CD release was remastered and contained rare and never-before-heard bonus tracks.

In early 2011, Ron Daniel Eriksen and Matt Jordan (drums) resurrected VIKING after a 20-year hiatus.

Video footage of Hoglan in the studio with VIKING can be seen below.

VIKING will embark on a two-week East Coast tour with POSSESSOR in late April. Sitting behind the drum kit for VIKING will be Cody Johns.


Find more on Dark angel
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).