SANCTUARY: 'Frozen' Video Released

SANCTUARY: 'Frozen' Video Released

"Frozen", the new video from the reunited '80s cult metal outfit SANCTUARY, can be seen below. The clip was filmed in Germany with director Dirk Behlau.

Photos from the "Frozen" video shoot can be found on the SANCTUARY Facebook page.

"Frozen" is taken from SANCTUARY's comeback album, "The Year The Sun Died", which will be released on October 14 in North America and October 6 in Europe via Century Media. Recorded in Seattle at Soundhouse Studios with producer Chris "Zeuss" Harris (SOULFLY, SHADOWS FALL, HATEBREED, MUNICIPAL WASTE), the CD will feature 11 tracks. There will be a deluxe media book, available exclusively at CM Distro in the United States, which features expanded packaging and the bonus track, a cover of THE DOORS classic "Waiting For The Sun". The vinyl version will come with a CD featuring this bonus track as well. The cover artwork for the album was created by Travis Smith (OPETH, NEVERMORE).

"The Year The Sun Died" track listing

01. Arise And Purify
02. Let The Serpent Follow Me
03. Exitium (Anthem Of The Living)
04. Question Existence Fading
05. I Am Low
06. Frozen
07. One Final Day (Sworn To Believe)
08. The World Is Wired
09. The Dying Age
10. Ad Vitam Aeternam
11. The Year The Sun Died

In 2010, four of the founding SANCTUARY members — Warrel Dane, Jim Sheppard, Lenny Rutledge and Dave Budbill — came together for a few select reunion performances. At first, it was just going to be a handful of shows, but the response and chemistry on stage was so overwhelming that the guys changed their minds. Now, some 20 years after they left off, SANCTUARY has continued with its unique mix of U.S. power metal, hard rock and progressive elements.

To complete the lineup, Brad Hull (FORCED ENTRY) is filling in for former guitar player Sean Blosi.

SANCTUARY released the classic albums "Refuge Denied" and "Into The Mirror Black" during its short existence between 1985 and 1992. Following the band's split, Dane and Sheppard formed NEVERMORE.

In a recent interview with, Dane stated about how the SANCTUARY reunion came together with guitarist Lenny Rutledge, bassist Jim Sheppard, drummer Dave Budbill, and guitarist Brad Hull: "What really fueled the reunion is when Jack Black got involved with the video game Brütal Legend and picked 'Battle Angels' to be in the game. The rumor is he picked the song that he liked to fantasize a bit about. That got us talking. We gave Sean [Blosi, guitarist] the opportunity to be involved, but he decided it's not his thing anymore. I respect that. We have known Brad through FORCED ENTRY, and he was a part of the last tour in the early '90s with us."

Regarding "The Year The Sun Died", Dane said: "About halfway through the songwriting process, I realized everything was going to be fine. I didn't have any apprehension or fears because I knew we had been bottling shit up for a long time, and when it was going to come out, it was going to be an assault attack, like that Michael Schenker song and album title. There might have been a few old ideas, but it's all pretty much brand new, current, and relevant. I think it really sounds like a modern metal record. It sounds up to date and will get us back into the metal market."

On the topic of working with producer Chris "Zeuss" Harris (SOULFLY, SHADOWS FALL, HATEBREED) on "The Year The Sun Died", Dane said: "Zeuss brought everything to the table; he is a great producer. Bottom line. He really pushed me hard, and made me sing better than I have in a long time. That's one great thing that a producer can do when they are showing you their skills. They know how to push musicians, and he did the same thing with all the guys in the band. He wanted everyone to perform as (good) as they could. I love that guy for that. I think we are pretty lucky we got him, he wanted to do this record so bad, he was pursuing us."

SANCTUARY's current lineup:

Warrel Dane - Vocals
Lenny Rutledge - Guitar
Brad Hull - Guitars
Jim Sheppard - Bass
Dave Budbill - Drums

"Frozen" video:

"Exitium (Anthem Of The Living)" lyric video:

"Arise And Purify" audio stream:



To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).