STABBING WESTWARD Drops New Single 'Ghost'

January 21, 2022

As the anticipation grows for the brand-new STABBING WESTWARD album "Chasing Ghosts" to be released — the band's first new LP in more than 20 years — the four-piece gives another taste of the new music with their latest single, "Ghost".

Fans who buy the physical or digital edition of the single will be gifted with several additional tracks including remixes of "Ghost" led by STABBING WESTWARD frontman Christopher Hall and Assemblage 23 along with a reworking of early hit "Why", from 1996 RIAA-certified gold album "Wither Blister Burn & Peel".

"Chasing Ghosts" will be out March 18 via COP International Records. It features 10 tracks that showcase the industrial rock band's characteristic sound with a modern sheen that picks up right where they left off with their last full-length in 2001. With the new tracks, STABBING WESTWARD has not only managed stay true to their original sound, but also expanded it to fit the frantic new reality of the 21st century.

"Ghost" follows the single "I Am Nothing" that was released in November 2021, with Loudwire saying, "20 years later, [STABBING WESTWARD] are back in the studio making the same intense electro-goth bangers they were doing two decades earlier. Now, the compressed crunchy guitar riffs, steady pounding beats, and signature wail of singer Christopher Hall highlight a tension that seems to fit perfectly this day and age."

"Chasing Ghosts" will feature brand-new songs as well as re-workings of the band's acclaimed 2020 reunion EP "Dead And Gone" that finds original founding members Christopher Hall (vocals/guitar) and Walter Flakus (keyboards/programming) honing in on the incredible partnership that once produced a string of hits that dominated alternative radio and film soundtracks, including "Shame", "Save Yourself" and "What Do I Have to Do?" — and resulted in two gold records.

To recreate that original chemistry, the band recruited the legendary producer John Fryer to again helm "Chasing Ghosts". Fryer, whose production credits include DEPECHE MODE, NINE INCH NAILS, 4AD, COCTEAU TWINS and LOVE AND ROCKETS, originally worked with STABBING WESTWARD on their best-selling early releases "Ungod" (1994) and "Wither Blister Burn + Peel" (1996). "Chasing Ghosts" was also mastered by Tom Baker who, like Fryer, worked with STABBING WESTWARD on their early releases and is part of the reassembled production team on the latest album. The current STABBING WESTWARD band lineup also includes Carlton Bost (guitars and programming) and Bobby Amaro (drums).

With artwork by David Seidman (who has worked with COHEED AND CAMBRIA and is known for his ethereal and surrealistic imagery),formats include digital, six-panel digipack CD, and limited-edition vinyl, including a run of 2,000 double-gatefold 180-gram black vinyl with an additional insert. Exclusive limited-edition merch will also be announced soon.

The full track listing for "Chasing Ghosts" is as follows:

01. I Am Nothing
02. Damaged Goods
03. Cold
04. Push
05. Wasteland
06. Ctrl Z
07. Crawl
08. Dead & Gone
09. Ghost
10. The End

Find more on Stabbing westward
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).