THE GEMS Feat. Former THUNDERMOTHER Members: 'P.S.Y.C.H.O.' Single Out Now

November 9, 2023

THE GEMS, the new Swedish rock band featuring former THUNDERMOTHER members Guernica Mancini (vocals),Emlee Johansson (drums) and Mona Lindgren (bass),will release its debut album, "Phoenix", on January 26, 2024 via Napalm Records.

The official music video for the trio's third single, "P.S.Y.C.H.O.", can be seen below.

THE GEMS' first-ever single, "Like A Phoenix", released in June 2023, isn't just a songtitle; it's a prophecy, a prediction, and a promise. Straight away it gained a remarkable amount of Spotify streams and YouTube video views, and reached No. 2 on rock radio airplay charts in Germany in no time.

Breaking free from the confines of THUNDERMOTHER, Mancini, Johansson and Lindgren united under the banner of THE GEMS in early 2023, inspired by legends such as LED ZEPPELIN and IRON MAIDEN.

THE GEMS comment on "P.S.Y.C.H.O": "'P.S.Y.C.H.O' is a fast and fun party track, with a chorus that will drive you crazy in the most magnificent way. We're all bound to bump into some energy vamps so why not propose a toast in their honor? And who begins a song with insane drum fills soaked in flanger? WE DO! Maybe we are the psychos ourselves?! Watch the music video to get some clues…"

THE GEMS added about "Phoenix": "'Phoenix' marks the beginning, the rise of THE GEMS. This album takes you on a journey through one of our toughest times. Through this creative process we were able to really dig deep and let go of a lot of emotional baggage, and find true happiness in music again. The new found freedom our band has been given us shines through on this album. We couldn't be prouder of what we've accomplished, and the true rock n roll sisterhood and community we've built through these few months of our existence. 'Phoenix' is the perfect album for anyone going through a tough time, having the rug pulled out under you and somehow finding the strength to rebuild. You'll get the full range of emotions, masterfully produced by our dear friend Johan Randén, who we also wrote some of the songs with.

"We hope people will love 'Phoenix' and really enjoy the epic ride this album will take you on."

"Phoenix" track listing:

01. Aurora (interlude)
02. Queens
03. Send Me To The Wolves
04. Domino
05. Silver Tongue
06. Undiscovered Paths
07. Maria's Song (interlude)
08. Ease Your Pain
09. Running
10. Renaissance (interlude)
11. Like A Phoenix
12. P.S.Y.C.H.O.
13. Kiss it Goodbye
14. Force Of Nature
15. Fruits Of My Labor
16. Like A Phoenix (acoustic version)

Captivating, chanting intro track "Aurora" allows vocalist Mancini's distinctive, strong and bluesy vocals shine, and sets the scene before the catchy rock'n'roll anthem "Queens" roars as a celebration of feminine power. Standing up for oneself, fighting back and rising above are some of the main lyrical themes of "Phoenix", which "Send Me To The Wolves" is an outstanding example of. The song's storyline champions overcoming and not giving in to oppressors, before "Domino" takes THE GEMS' grooviness to the level of legendary classic rock bands of the 1970s. With emotional tracks like "Undiscovered Paths" and "Fruits Of My Labor", THE GEMS bring significant depth and variety to the album, distancing themselves from their history. Stunning interlude "Maria's Song", featuring violinist Maria Jern, fades into the touching ballad "Ease Your Pain" — giving extra space to the exceptional guitar work of Lindgren. Following track "Running" shines as a surefire future hit with more impressive guitar work and Johansson's hard-hitting drums, before the beautifully stripped down acoustic version of "Like A Phoenix" — backed with acoustic guitar by producer Johan Randén — wraps up THE GEMS' debut album.

"Phoenix" was mastered by Thomas "Plec" Johansson (SOILWORK, HANK VON HELL, FIREWIND) and its artwork was created by ex-THUNDERMOTHER member Giorgia Carteri (SOILWORK, THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA).

THE GEMS made their live debut on March 22 at Pustervik in Gothenburg, Sweden as the support act for THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA.

THE GEMS see Lindgren returning to her original instrument, the guitar.

THE GEMS' live performances include material from THUNDERMOTHER's last two albums, 2020's "Heat Wave" and 2022's "Black And Gold", both of which featured songwriting contributions from Guernica and Emlee.

In February, it was announced that Mancini, Johansson and Lindgren were exiting THUNDERMOTHER and would form a new band together. At the same time, guitarist Filippa Nässil revealed that she would continue with a new THUNDERMOTHER lineup featuring singer Linnéa Vikström (THERION, AT THE MOVIES) and returning bassist Majsan Lindberg. Filippa has also since recruited Joan Massing (HONEY CREEK) as THUNDERMOTHER's new drummer.

Photo credit: Gustaf Sandholm Andersson

Find more on Thundermother
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).