THE RUNAWAYS: Greatest-Hits LP Collection Gets Expanded

March 1, 2019

In the second half of the 1970s, when THE RUNAWAYS first burst upon an unsuspecting rock scene, the idea of an all-female teenage band playing raw, raging rock 'n' roll was a bit too much for mainstream American audiences. But the tenacious L.A. quintet persisted and ultimately proved their point, launching such infectious rock 'n' roll anthems as "Cherry Bomb", "You Drive Me Wild", "Queens Of Noise" and "I Love Playin' With Fire" into the rock lexicon.

Now, four decades after THE RUNAWAYS first swaggered onto the scene, the newly expanded LP edition of "The Best Of The Runaways" features three extra tracks and is proof the band's timeless brilliance. Released today on UMe, "The Best Of The Runaways" is issued on standard black vinyl as well as limited-edition fire engine red colored vinyl. There is also a special bundle with a RUNAWAYS t-shirt coupled with the limited editon colored vinyl available exclusively through uDiscover. This special bundle can be ordered here.

Both versions of the LP feature a new cover photo featuring the classic RUNAWAYS lineup of singer Cherie Currie, guitarists Joan Jett and Lita Ford, bassist Jackie Fox and drummer Sandy West. The 13-song collection features material drawn from such now-classic RUNAWAYS albums as "The Runaways", "Queens Of Noise" and "Waitin' For The Night", all originally released on the Mercury label.

In addition, UMe recently located the original tapes for the music video "Cherry Bomb" and uploaded the footage in HD to the band's YouTube channel to celebrate the release of "The Best Of The Runaways". Watch the HD version of "Cherry Bomb" below.

THE RUNAWAYS created hard-hitting rock 'n' roll with an unmistakably female point of view at a time when the music was largely limited to male performers. In the years since, THE RUNAWAYS have been acknowledged as musical revolutionaries and cultural innovators, and a key influence and icon for just about every female rocker who followed.

These tunes capture THE RUNAWAYS at their most raucous and uncompromising, combining rousing choruses, pointed lyrics and raw instrumental interplay, and once again demonstrating why their music continues to carry such transcendent rock 'n' roll power.

Side A

01. Cherry Bomb
02. Blackmail
03. I Love Playin' With Fire
04. Born To Be Bad
05. Take It Or Leave It
06. Queens Of Noise
07. You Drive Me Wild (Live Version)

Side B

01. School Days
02. Wait For Me
03. Wasted
04. Don't Go Away
05. Waitin' For The Night
06. C'Mon

Find more on The runaways
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).