TOOL: 'Fear Inoculum' Track Listing Revealed

August 14, 2019

TOOL has confirmed the track list for its long-awaited fifth album, "Fear Inoculum", which will arrive on August 30 via RCA.

The physical edition of the album will include seven songs, while the digial edition will contain 10 cuts, including the closer "7empest", which is almost 20 minutes long.

As previously reported, the "Fear Inoculum" title track recently became the longest song to ever land in the Billboard Hot 100. The TOOL cut, which entered the chart at No. 93, has a running time of 10 minutes 21 seconds, 24 seconds longer than the previous record holder, David Bowie's "Blackstar".

In other news, four of TOOL's studio albums entered Billboard's Top Rock Albums chart after their arrival on digital services (both for purchase and streaming),led by 1996's "Ænima", which debuts at No. 1 with 33,000 equivalent album units earned, according to Nielsen Music. TOOL's 2001 album "Lateralus" follows (No. 2, 27,000 units),with "10,000 Days" re-entering the tally at No. 4 (24,000 units) and 1993's "Undertow" rounding out the top five at No. 5 (23,000).

"It's amazing: the future and technology," guitarist Adam Jones told Revolver in a recent interview. "It's put a dent in the industry of music, but you've gotta adapt. The old way is a huge ship sinking, so you've gotta jump off and swim over to the new ship, which is digital and free music and a whole different approach to how you get your songs out there to people. It's exciting."

He continued: "I remember in the early '90s, I saved all my money and bought a 16mm camera and I put an intervalometer on it and it cost me, like, $9,000. And now you can do it with your phone and an app! … It's hilarious. But it hasn't spoiled anything we do. We make our money playing live and selling merchandise and selling products that are really unique that people appreciate and feel like they got their money's worth. It's not just about music anymore. The commodity has changed."

"Fear Inoculum" track listing:

Physical edition

01. Fear Inoculum
02. Pneuma
03. Invincible
04. Descending
05. Culling Voices
06. Chocolate Chip Trip
07. 7empest

Digital edition

01. Fear Inoculum
02. Pneuma
03. Litanie Contre La Peur
04. Invincible
05. Legion Inoculant
06. Descending
07. Culling Voices
08. Chocolate Chip Trip
09. 7empest
10. Mockingbeat

Photo credit: Travis Shinn

Find more on Tool
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email