Video Premiere: ETHS' 'Nihil Sine Causa'

September 12, 2016

"Nihil Sine Causa", the new video from French modern metallers ETHS, can be seen below. The song is taken from the band's new album, which was released on April 22 via Season Of Mist.

Commented ETHS guitarist Stéphane "Staif" Bihl: "We are really glad to present you the first clip from our new album 'Ankaa' for one of our favorite tracks, which is called 'Nihil Sine Causa' — nothing without a reason.

"We deeply thank former ARKAN singer and celebrated actress Sarah Layssac and Jon Howard of THREAT SIGNAL for their contributions and investment. Heartfelt thanks go of course also out to Robin Levet and the entire EZDA Films team, Stephanie Capellini, Yann and Marseille's best rock bar La Maison Hantée for all the work accomplished — without forgetting Olivia, the dancers, and all the extras who really gave everything! I sincerely hope you will appreciate this clip as much as we took pleasure in the making of it."

"Ankaa" manages to keep the essence of ETHS, guided by Bihl, who also produced the album. Yet with new frontwoman Rachel Aspe and other changes in the lineup, there are new elements in the sound of the French act. The new album sounds more diverse and generally a touch darker. Electronic patterns find as easily a fitting place as a beautiful Arabic chant by guest vocalist Sarah Layssac (ARKAN). For this recording, former SOILWORK and current MEGADETH drummer extraordinaire Dirk Verbeuren stepped in and delivered a massive-yet-intricate pounding.

"Ankaa" track listing:

01. Nefas
02. Nihil Sine Causa
03. Amaterasu
04. Seditio
05. Nixi Dii
06. Vae Victis
07. HAR1
08. Sekhet Aaru
09. Kumari Kandam
10. Alnitak
11. Alnilam
12. Mintaka

ETHS in 2014 released an EP, "Ex Umbra In Solem", with Rachel Aspe. The EP's title track was a new song recorded, produced and mixed by ETHS guitarist Staif Bihl. It was backed by three classic ETHS tracks, recorded live on October 24, 2013 at the Divan du Monde in Paris, mixed by Nikhertz at Studio Phantom. Last but not least, the EP included three songs from the "III" album, re-recorded with Rachel's vocals.

ETHS in 2012 recruited Virginie Goncalves (KELLS) and Nelly Wood-Hasselhoff to handle lead vocals at the group's shows following the departure of Candice Clot.

Aspe made headlines in France in November 2012 when she performed the SYBREED song "Emma-0" on an episode of "La France À Un Incroyable Talent", the French reality television series which is part of the global British "Got Talent" franchise. Her death metal vocal styling stunned the judges and crowd before going viral and being seen by millions of people.

"It has always been my goal to be part of a band," Aspe told Rock Overdose. "One of the reasons I went to this TV show was to find one. [The show] was [taped] three months before I met ETHS, and [it originally aired shortly] after Candice left the band. So things came very fast for me. I had a job and it was hard to work on my vocals so quickly. I didn’t expect this success for the video; many bands contacted me, I did some [guest appearances] since that. People are continuing to share and comment on it."

Clot played her final show as a member of ETHS on October 13, 2012 at L'Arcade in Notre-Dame-de-Gravenchon, France.

ETHS is:

Staif Bihl: guitar
Rachel Aspe: vocals
Damien Rivoal: bass
R.U.L.: drums (live)
Dirk Verbeuren: drums (album)


Find more on Eths
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email