Video Premiere: TESLA's 'Shock'

March 12, 2019

The official music video for "Shock", the title track of the new album from Sacramento, California rockers TESLA, can be seen below. Released on March 8 via UMe, the follow-up to 2014's "Simplicity" was produced and co-written by DEF LEPPARD guitarist Phil Collen and is available on CD, digital, black vinyl, and limited-edition translucent blue vinyl formats.

TESLA guitarist Frank Hannon told Classic Rock about the "Shock" title track: "We thought it was a great title for the song, but then it felt like the title for the album as well. When we recorded it, we were, like, 'Our fans might like this, they might not like it, or they might be shocked by it.' It's got some of the most meticulous production that we've ever had on a song, and that's all because of Phil. He was a real coach throughout the record-making process, very positive and encouraging. He alleviated a lot of pressure for us, and he helped end a lot of arguments of debates."

Collen previously co-wrote and produced the TESLA song "Save That Goodness", which was released in August 2016 and included on the "Mechanical Resonance Live!" album.

Hannon told Billboard about recording "Shock" with Collen: "This is the first time that we've really allowed another person, a producer to really be involved to the extent that Phil Collen was, like a sixth band member. We weren't really gonna make a new album; After 'Simplicity', it didn't seem like there was any point. But Phil really motivated us. We're definitely kindred spirits with DEF LEPPARD, and [Collen] brought in a lot of production techniques and a lot of organization that they learned from Mutt Lange."

"Shock" was recorded piecemeal, Hannon said, mostly while TESLA was touring with DEF LEPPARD. "We would do it in hotel rooms," he said. "We would do it in the lobbies of hotels, in little conference rooms, with a computer. We would do it backstage, in hotel rooms on days off, just in little pieces. And [Collen] would help us orchestrate and organize all the pieces. He helped us write lyrics. He helped us arrange. He would work with each guy individually and help them bring out their ideas...and then really put the finishing touches on the songs with his input."

TESLA's current lineup includes four of the five original members: Jeff Keith (vocals),Frank Hannon (guitars),Brian Wheat (bass) and Troy Luccketta (drums). Guitarist Dave Rude joined in 2006 as the replacement for Tommy Skeoch.

Find more on Tesla
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).