VIRGIN STEELE: 'Seven Devils Moonshine' 35th-Anniversary Box Set To Include Three New Albums

September 18, 2018

U.S. metal veterans VIRGIN STEELE will release, "Seven Devils Moonshine", a special five-CD box set, for their 35th anniversary.

Founder and mastermind David DeFeis states: "As some of you may know, we have been reissuing the VIRGIN STEELE catalog bit by bit over the past several years, and in doing so we have consistently been adding copious amounts of bonus material to accompany all these various reissue offerings. The last two albums scheduled as part of the reissue campaign we began are the albums 'The Book Of Burning' and 'Hymns To Victory'. When those two albums first appeared, they were released simultaneously. Therefore, we thought why not once again issue them at the exact same time, but, this time, let's include a brand new album and create a kind of box set package. Well, once we began planning and recording for such an endeavor, we very soon accumulated far more material than what could possibly fit on one disc, so we thought, 'Okay, fine. We'll plan on releasing two new discs chock-full of new material to go along with these last two reissues, and, shortly after that decision was made, we managed to record even more new material, so now we have in addition to the two reissues (which, by the way, do contain one bonus track each),well, friends, we now have actually three brand new discs of VIRGIN STEELE material included within this special box set release.

"I wish to stress the fact that what we have done here with our box set is include three brand new albums, not bundle in merely a collection of old bonus tracks we had hanging around for ages and ages. These three new discs contain either brand new original songs written and recorded within just these past few months, or brand new rewritten covers of songs that we enjoy and felt could be re-cast in the VIRGIN STEELE style, or new recordings of classic VIRGIN STEELE material done either in a special orchestral type setting or stripped way down and reimagined in vastly different form. Again, at the risk of repetition, these aren't tracks that have been sitting around in the vaults waiting — these are all newly recorded tracks completed specifically for this particular box set release. I don't know if anyone has ever done this kind of thing before, but we felt that for us it was absolutely necessary to do this, and it makes perfect sense for where we are... at this moment.

SPV/Steamhammer will release "Seven Devils Moonshine" on November 23, including five CDs (a total of 88 songs),where three CDs contain totally new songs and new versions. The package will also include a sticker and a 24-page booklet with new lyrics and photos by David DeFeis.

Track listing:

CD 1 "Ghost Harvest (The Spectral Vintage Sessions)" Vintage 1 - Black Wine For Mourning (new album)

01. Seven Dead Within
02. Green Dusk Blues
03. Psychic Slaughter
04. Bonedust (Orchestral Version)
05. Hearts On Fire
06. Child Of The Morning Star
07. Murder In High-Gloss Relief
08. Feral
09. Justine
10. Princess Amy
11. Wicked Game
Clouds Of Oblivion Medley (Tracks 12 & 13)
12. Little Wing
13. The Gods Don't Remember...

CD 2 "Ghost Harvest (The Spectral Vintage Sessions)" Vintage 2 - Red Wine For Warning (new album)

01. The Evil In Her Eyes (Piano & Vocal Version)
02. Feelin' Alright
03. Sister Moon
Summertime Darkness Suite (Tracks 4, 5, & 6)
04. Sweating Into Dawn
05. Summertime
06. Black Leaves Swirl Down My Street
07. Rip Off
The Gods Are Hungry Triptych (Tracks 8, 9, & 10)
08. The Gods Are Hungry Poem
09. The Poisoned Wound
10. The Birth Of Beauty
11. Profession Of Violence...
12. Rock Steady
13. Nutshell
14. Slow & Easy "Intro"
15. Jesus Just Left Chicago
Late Night Barroom Hoodoo Medley (Tracks 16, 17, 18, & 19)
16. Soul Kitchen
17. When The Music's Over
18. Crawling King Snake
19. When The Music's Over "Reprise"
20. Imhullu
The Drained White Suite (Tracks 21, 22, & 23)
21. After Dark
22. Wake The Dead
23. The Graveyard Dance
24. The Triple Goddess
25. Twilight Of The Gods (Live Acoustic Rehearsal Version)
26. Transfiguration (Live Acoustic Rehearsal Version)

CD 3 "Gothic Voodoo Anthems" (new album)

01. I Will Come For You (Orchestral Version)
02. Queen Of The Dead (Orchestral Version)
03. The Orpheus Taboo (Orchestral Version)
04. Kingdom Of The Fearless (The Destruction Of Troy) (Orchestral Version)
05. The Black Light Bacchanalia (Orchestral Version)
06. Zeus Ascendant
07. By The Hammer Of Zeus (And The Wrecking Ball Of Thor) (Orchestral Version)
The Gothic Voodoo Suite (Tracks 8, 9 & 10)
08. Rumanian Folk Dance No. 3 "Pe Loc"
09. Delirium "Excerpt"
10. Snakeskin Voodoo Man (Orchestral Version)
11. The Enchanter
The Fire & Ice Medley (Tracks 12, 13 & 14)
12. Bone China
13. No Quarter
14. Bone China "Reprise"
Passion In The French Quarter Medley (Tracks 15 & 16)
15. Chloe Dancer
16. Gentle Groove
17. Darkness-Darkness
18. Death Letter Blues
19. Spoonful

CD 4 "Hymns To Victory" (re-release)

01. Flames Of Thy Power (From Blood They Rise)
02. Through The Ring Of Fire
03. Invictus
04. Crown Of Glory (Unscarred) (In Fury Mix)
05. Kingdom Of The Fearless (The Destruction Of Troy)
06. The Spirit Of Steele (Acoustic Version)
07. A Symphony Of Steele (Battle Mix)
08. The Burning Of Rome (Cry For Pompeii)
09. I Will Come For You
10. Dust From The Burning & Amaranth (Orchestral Versions) (Bonus Tracks)
11. Noble Savage (Long Lost Early Mix)
12. Mists Of Avalon
13. Emalaith

CD 5 "The Book Of Burning" (Re-Release)

01. Conjurtion Of The Watcher
02. Don't Say Goodbye (Tonight)
03. Rain Of Fire
04. Annihilation
05. Hellfire Woman
06. Children Of The Storm
07. The Chosen Ones
08. The Succubus
09. Minuet In G Minor
10. The Redeemer
11. I Am The One
12. Hot And Wild
13. Birth Through Fire
14. Guardians Of The Flame
15. The Final Days
16. A Cry In The Night
17. Queen Of The Dead (Nordic Twilight Version) (Bonus Track)

Find more on Virgin steele
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).