September 16, 2022

ELLEFSON-SOTO, David Ellefson's collaboration with Jeff Scott Soto, played its first concert ever last night (Thursday, September 15) at Blah Blah in Turin, Italy.

Ellefson and Soto performed some of the music from their upcoming album, "Vacation In The Underworld", as well as ran through various catalog highlights, including selections from MEGADETH and Yngwie Malmsteen. They were joined by guitarist Andy Martongelli as the musical director, as well as Paulo Caridi on drums and Valerio De Rosa on rhythm guitar.

Fan-filmed video of the entire show is available below.

Featured songs (with time stamps in video):

01. Vacation In The Underworld (Ellefson - Soto) 0:01
02. Sharpen The Sword (Ellefson - Soto) 5:37
03. Like A Bullet (Ellefson - Soto) 10:40
04. The Reason (Ellefson - Soto) 16:22
05. Celebrity Trash (Ellefson - Soto) 26:18
06. If You Were God (SLEEPING GIANT song) 30:07
07. The Day Before Tomorrow (Ellefson - Soto) 34:55
08. S.T.N. (Ellefson - Soto) 39:43
09. Swords & Tequila (RIOT song)/ Guest on vocals: Alessandro Del Vecchio 44:20
10. Rebel Yell (BILLY IDOL song) 48:02
11. Medley: Hellion, Breaking The Law, Paranoid, Crazy Train, Enter Sandman, Run To The Hills, I'll See The Light Tonight, Peace Sells… But Who's Buying 53:25

"Vacation In The Underworld" will arrive on October 7 via Rat Pak Records. The LP was produced by Chris Collier and features eleven tracks and three bonus recordings.

From the fiery guitar lead of the album opener "Vacation In The Underworld" to the prog-metal fury of closer "Rise To Win", ELLEFSON-SOTO's debut showcases the various influences David and Jeff have picked up over their four decades in music. Giada Jade Etro from the Italian power metal band FROZEN CROWN makes a guest appearance on "The Day Before Tomorrow". Steve Conley and Ken Mary from FLOTSAM AND JETSAM perform on the title track, "Vacation In The Underworld".

"Vacation In The Underworld" track listing:

01. Vacation In The Underworld
02. Like A Bullet
03. Sharpen The Sword
04. The Reason
05. S.T.N.
06. The Revolution
07. Celebrity Trash
08. Live To Die Another Day
09. The Day Before Tomorrow
10. Hercules
11. Rise To Win
12. Out Of The Blue (Bonus Track)
13. Lone Star (Bonus Track)
14. Writing On The Wall (Bonus Track)

In March 2021 — two months before the former MEGADETH bassist found himself embroiled in a sex video scandal — Ellefson and Soto announced that they had been collaborating on some new material under the moniker ELLEFSON-SOTO. The ELLEFSON-SOTO version of the RIOT classic "Swords & Tequila" was simultaneously released across all digital streaming outlets via Ellefson's Combat Records.

In a May 2022 interview with KNAC.COM, Soto offered an update on his collaboration with Ellefson, saying: "I can confirm that it's actually happening. I can confirm that it's gonna be released this year. And I can confirm that it's a full-fledged album, it's a full-fledged commitment that we both put into it. We will be doing shows and dates, et cetera. But that's about all I can give you right now."

Jeff's comments came seven months after he was asked in an interview with Dr. Music if the rest of the material he recorded with Ellefson would eventually see the light of day. At the time, Soto said: "I'm hoping it will at some point. I've given David, as many people have, the space and the time to kind of deal with his own things.

"We were full-on getting that thing ready to bounce and to drop, et cetera, and, obviously, things were put on hold for that reason," he explained. "And it's just better for things to just kind of go away and kind of calm down, because we don't need the kind of press that comes with it, especially the comments [from] the Internet cowboys out there. Let it go away, let it just kind of slip under the rug, and I'm sure that stuff is gonna resurface. And the idea of it will resurface and get us out there… I'm sure we'll revisit it when the time is right."

This past January, Soto shared an Instagram photo of him with Ellefson and he captioned it: "Something brewing in Los Angeles today....#davidellefson".

When Ellefson's collaboration with Soto was first announced, David said in a statement: "Jeff and I have been friends for so many years that it's great to finally collaborate on some material together. He has such a distinctive voice and perfect style for some new ideas my guitarist Andy Martongelli and I have been composing. We are excited about the progress of it all and thought this would be a perfect time to give a little sneak preview."

At the time, Jeff added: "As COVID-19 became a big negative around the globe, it actually offered many artists a chance to finally collaborate with one another that might have never happened otherwise… As I have known David for many years, I knew from our other efforts outside of our day jobs that we could come up with some badass jams…and here we are, letting you in on our cool little secret."

Ellefson was fired from MEGADETH in May 2021 after sexually tinged messages and explicit video footage involving the bassist were posted on Twitter. At the time, Ellefson was accused of grooming an underage girl through videos and online messages. David has denied the allegation and has repeatedly said the woman in question had been a willing, consenting adult at the time of their virtual sexual encounter. Ellefson accompanied his denial with an alleged screenshot of a statement from the woman with whom he was supposedly involved at the time. In it, the woman admitted to recording the alleged intimate communications she had with Ellefson and called herself "naïve" for sharing them with a friend without the musician's permission.

David was in MEGADETH from the band's inception in 1983 to 2002, and again from 2010 until his latest exit.

Blah blah Ellefson Soto

Posted by Ferdinando Bove on Thursday, September 15, 2022

Find more on Megadeth
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).