rating icon 8.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. Waking Dream
02. Abyss
03. Through Stars
04. Legacy
05. Return To Me
06. Soulbound
07. Faster Than Light
08. The Wind That Shapes The Land
09. Carry The Flame
10. Afterlife

The first thing that strikes you is how satisfyingly heavy UNLEASH THE ARCHERS have become over the years. Not that the Canadians' early albums lacked cojones, it's just that power metal has become such a sonically predictable genre over the decades, and bands with the gall to do something different are always particularly welcome. With bottom-heavy shades of "The Dark Ride"-era HELLOWEEN, the sound of "Abyss" is immense: epic, bombastic and full of textural subtlety and shade. Hats off to whoever produced this thing. I really should read the press release [Jacob Hansen of Denmark's Hansen Studios].

The even better news is that "Abyss" is a world-class power metal record that gently obliterates everything UNLEASH THE ARCHERS have done before. Part of this subtle but significant transformation is in the aforementioned production, which really does make the band sound unstoppable and distinctive, but it's these songs that shout loudest about their ongoing evolution. Eschewing cliché in favor of a nuanced and melodically inventive approach to power metal, UNLEASH THE ARCHERS cover a lot of stylistic ground here, but it's all done seamlessly and with masterful skill. Throw in another powerhouse performance from the always great Brittney Slayes and "Abyss" is about as good as it gets, assuming that you have an insatiable appetite for power and pomp. You probably do if you're reading this, let's face it.

Either way, these are all great songs. Striking a sublime balance between all-out metallic might and super-memorable AOR sheen, everything from dramatic opener "Waking Dream" and the monumental, high-energy title track through to the absurdly catchy "Legacy" and the swirling, progressive feast of "The Wind That Shapes The Land" hits the target. UNLEASH THE ARCHERS exude plenty of warmth throughout all of this, but they're also audibly spurred on by real conviction and the kind of ambition that often separates the great from the, erm, not bad. Closing track "Afterlife" hammers the point home, cramming a ridiculous amount of ideas and influences into its seven-and-a-half minutes. It's got lashings of orchestral splendor, visceral death metal shrieks and a chorus so huge you could plant a flag in it and claim it for Our Lord Ronnie James Dio. UNLEASH THE ARCHERS always had a gift for writing classy tunes and delivering them with plenty of oomph, but "Afterlife" is on another level entirely, with Brittney Slayes nobly demonstrating that she's one of the finest metal singers on the planet right now. Similarly, Canada's finest must now be regarded as among the power metal elite. "Abyss" will swallow you up.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).