Accept Death

rating icon 7.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. I'm Sick
02. A Slow Funeral For a Life Time of Suffering
03. Normal
04. Skinning the Face for Relief
05. Wallowing in Filth
06. Tolerance
07. Punish the Retarded
08. Bounty of Shit
09. Kill Everyone

I'll put Northeast Ohio's heavy music collective against any region in the world when it comes to churning out raggedy hate metal and sludge punishment that is from the heart and convincingly soul-burning. It is a fact of which England's Retribute Records is keenly aware, making it no surprise that the label signed a band made up of members of the mighty FISTULA, HEMDALE, and DIE HARD (pre-INTEGRITY). That band is ACCEPT DEATH and the self-titled album is one nasty sludge album that chills to the bone and brings to the surface feelings of malice and vengeance that were banished to the deepest recesses of the mind years earlier

Forget about likening ACCEPT DEATH to everyone from EYEHATEGOD to IRON MONKEY (even though it would not be inaccurate). What is important is to understand that the kind of subsonic bass rumble and down-tuned-to-Hell guitar tone is as evil as you will ever hear. Check out the MP3 on the Retribute site and listen to just how malicious a guitar can sound when put into the right hands. The vocals of guitarist/bassist Matt J. Rositano are of two kinds: (1) snarling, frighteningly vitriolic and somewhat similar to FISTULA, and (2) growling and beastly. It is a combination that is expertly utilized throughout the album. The tempos often crawl across the floor, but are somehow never boring. The trio does not stick solely to one tempo though. Speedy sections are present on songs such as "Normal" and "Tolerance". In both cases, the shift into high gear will instill paralyzing fear into those not expecting it. And speaking of fear, there is a multi-track guitar, uh, "harmony" on "Punish the Retarded" that is just plain disconcerting; the nefarious and dissonant noises heard are 100 miles from pleasant.

Folks, the hate rising from ACCEPT DEATH like an acrid smoke is as real as it gets. It cannot be faked. Yeah, it's a sludge album and will not make anyone forget the progenitors of the style, but it is a damn good representation of the form. What else would you expect from those sick Ohio bastards?

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).