Nuclear Blast
rating icon 9 / 10

Track listing:

01.  Servants of the Air
02.  Divinyls
03.  If Tonight Is Our Only Chance
04.  This Boy's Last Summer
05.  Curves
06.  Transmissions
07.  Aeromantic
08.  Golden Swansdown
09.  Taurus
10.  Carmencita Seven
11.  Sister Mercurial
12.  Dead of Winter

At the rate that they are now cranking albums out, it's a misnomer to continue referring to THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA as a side project. With the newly released "Aeromantic" — their fourth record in five years — vocalist Bjorn "Speed" Strid has worked on twice as many records from this project during that time frame as his "main" band SOILWORK, and you have to combine the studio output of ARCH ENEMY, WITCHERY and SPIRITUAL BEGGARS to exceed that number for bassist Sharlee D'Angelo. It's hard to complain about the time spent on this endeavor though when the collective continues to capably replicate the warmth and comfort of the most enduring favorites from the 1970's stadium-rock explosion and turn-of-the-'80s soft-rock boom.

Strid has shown a strong ability to juggle soothing croons and sing-for-the-stars rock shouts on the project's previous records. "Aeromantic" sees him firmly belting it out so those in the cheap seats could hear him even without a microphone. His performance is bolstered by beautifully layered backup vocals from Anna-Mia Bonde and Anna Brygård, whether it's on hard-driving rockers like "Servants of the Air" and "This Boy's Last Summer", or pulse-pounding disco-rockers such as "Transmissions". While the balladeering is kept to more of a minimum on this record, Strid soars with such a presence that he still generates one of the best vocal performances of his career.

Guitarists David Andersson and Sebastian Forslund provide another pair of performances that evoke the catchier riffs of the sounds they pay tribute to, and D'Angelo provides a rumbling bass performance that is galloping from the early moments of "Aeromantic". Andersson and Forslund especially shine on the tropical pop-ballad "Curves". The piano-driven number already endears itself as an earworm thanks to Strid's raspy vocals and percussion work that evokes Elton John's attempts to adapt to the '80s, all before Andersson and Forslund bring it home with a pair of sensitive-guy blues-rock solos that would make the perfect last-call soundtrack at any Applebee's or TGI Friday's.

Keyboards and synthesizers have become a more prominent part of THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA's overall aesthetic with each subsequent record. That integration culminates on "Aeromantic" with what truly may be the biggest star-making performance on the album. John Lönnmyr does a large bulk of the heavy lifting, stepping into the keyboard seat to showcase a chameleon-like display of diverse rock sounds. Lönnmyr displays a mastery of ornate prog-rock orchestration and piano-balladry, but his most outstanding moment is the haunting Andrew Lloyd Webber rock opera-worthy synth-intro to "If Tonight Is Our Only Chance". Another outstanding piece of instrumentation comes from guest violinist Rachel Hall, as she plays out the second half of "Transmissions" in the band's best tribute yet to the ELECTRIC LIGHT ORCHESTRA records that serve as a source of the band's inspiration.

THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA figured out their sound early. The goal from the beginning was to pay tribute to the commercial rock that inspired the members' love for music, no matter how overtly heavy their own musical output became as adults. It's a formula that shouldn't be anything more than a mildly amusing diversion. The group's mastery of the songcraft though has resulted in albums that are worthy of shelf space alongside original classics from acts such as JOURNEY and TOTO. "Aeromantic" is another reason why there are no complaints that this has become a prolific project for its members.

Author: Jason Roche
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).