Ascension Codes

Season Of Mist
rating icon 6 / 10

Track listing:

01. Mu-54*
02. The Winged Ones
03. A'-va432
04. Elements and their Inhabitants
05. Ha-144
06. Mythical Serpents
07. Sha48*
08. 6th Dimensional Archetype
09. DNA Activation Template
10. Shar-216
11. Architects of Consciousness
12. DA'z-a86.4
13. Aurora
14. DU-*61.714285...
15. In a Multiverse Where Atoms Sing
16. A'jha108
17. Diamond Light Body
18. Ec-ka72

The events that have occurred between the release of 2014's "Kindly Bent to Free Us" and CYNIC's 2021's album, "Ascension Codes", could warrant a several-hundred-page band biography without regard for the band's prior history. The acrimonious split in 2015 between founding members Paul Masvidal (vocals/guitars) and Sean Reinert (drums/keyboards),the eventual agreement in 2017 that allowed Masvidal to continue with the CYNIC name, and the tragic deaths in 2020 of both Reinert and longtime CYNIC bassist Sean Malone are each monumental events spectrally lurking over this new album. "Ascension Codes" is the culmination of recording that Masvidal has worked on with new drummer Matt Lynch — making his studio debut after joining the band as touring drummer in 2017 — and keyboardist Dave Mackay, who also provides synthesized bass lines. The trio as individuals are each more than the up to the task of providing individual standout moments of musicianship. The end result of "Ascension Codes" though is an effort that does not quite add up to the sum of its parts.

Masvidal's approach to guitars and vocals remains an immersive experience of progressive metal atmosphere. Lynch shows incredibly frenetic dexterity behind the drum kit, and his work on this record holds up to the heavy scrutiny that it will likely receive from longtime fans. Mackay generates some very catchy basslines that occasionally do some heavy lifting on the album's more hypnotic moments, though some may not be able to help but wonder how much more pronounced those contributions would have sounded performed with the power of an actual bass guitar. Ultimately though, these elements do not end up coalescing into truly satisfying start-to-finish listening experiences for most of the record. "The Winged Ones", the first proper song on the record, ends up being an excellent showcase for Lynch to establish his bona fides early on, but is overall a meandering instrumental track that feels like it just ends abruptly without reaching a cathartic climax.

This continues to be the trend for the majority of "Ascension Codes". Even as the trio ventures into more adventurous territory, such as the more overtly ominous opening of "Mythical Serpents" and the weaving of neo-classical guitar and electronica passages on "Aurora", the general feel on most tracks is that of a disjointed workshop record as opposed to a set of fully realized, cohesive songs. This feeling of momentum starting and stopping is also added to by numerous interlude tracks throughout the record, referred to in publicity materials as "codes." These brief 30-second passages of ambient music and vocals end up doing more to detract from the album instead of enhancing it, and at times do not come off as clean lead-ins or lead-outs from the songs that they surround.

There are a few moments during the second half of the record where the strong musicianship and ambitious ideas do come together to show promise of potential future greatness from this lineup. "In A Multiverse Where Atoms Sing" is a tightly packed four-minutes of infectiously dazzling guitar work and drumming that alternate between brief flashes of pummeling and jazzy flourishes, all of it bolstered by an uplifting aura of melodic triumph. "Architects of Consciousness" is a track where the opening minutes are another great showcase for Lynch and Mackay, with Masvidal joining in with a combination of crunchy rhythm riffs and fusion guitar solos to power the song into another display that shows promise for the future.

There is no doubting the pure musical talent of the musicians that Masvidal has recruited to join him in continuing the CYNIC name. The elements for truly great new music to be released are there, but the puzzle pieces don't complete the picture just yet on "Ascension Codes".

Author: Jason Roche
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).