Century Media
rating icon 8.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. Xenogenesis
02. Acme Death Machine
03. Slum Planet
04. What's Left
05. Merchant of the Void
06. Higher Than Death
07. ALI3N
08. Plutonomicon
09. Paralyze (feat. Ho99o9)
10. Scorpion
11. Drift
12. Everybody Wants To Rule The World

MINISTRY brought industrial metal out of the underground in the late-'80s, and NINE INCH NAILS made the genre mainstream in the '90s. Then, in the early 2010s, industrial metal outfit 3TEETH came out of the Los Angeles underground and made industrial metal fashionable again.

Now, 3TEETH have returned with their fourth studio album, "EndEx". The album was created with co-production from DOOM composer Mick Gordon, with band members working in the landscape of Los Angeles' Joshua Tree.

"Xenogenesis" sets the listener up for "EndEx", as it begins the collection with ambient guitar and electronic noise, followed by distant rhythms. This makes for a dramatic initial impression and is the harbinger for Alexis Mincolla's distorted, Halloween-appropriate vocals, which are sure to put a shiver down anyone's spine.

From the get-go, this album is all killer, with murderous tracks that represent the darkest and heaviest of electronic music. "Acme Death Machine" is a lightning-fast assault, with crunchy, death growl vocals in the verses and more melodic singing in the chorus. But, don't let the word melodic fool you. This song, and most of "EndEx", is harsh and rhythmically based.

As the album moves on, its experimental nature really stands out. "What's Left" starts with some static noise before kicking into a catchy, NINE INCH NAILS-like rock anthem, making it one of the most radio-friendly songs on the set. "Merchant of the Void" features some deep, dance-worthy electronic beats and Mincolla's eerie, whispering vocals, as well as some unrelentingly ominous and abrasive guitars.

Moving along, "ALI3N" is one of the heaviest songs on the set, with a relentless guitar attack. "Higher Than Death" is one of the hookiest songs on "EndEx", presenting something that's slightly mainstream sounding, but just slightly. Even with its heaviness, the album manages to turn things down just a smidge with some mid-tempo rockers, such as "Scorpion", "Drift" and "Paralyze", the latter featuring Ho99o9. 3TEETH's fantastical cover of TEARS FOR FEARS' "Everybody Wants to Rule the World" rounds out the set, and it brings a heavier edge to the 1980's pop song.

The tracks on "EndEx" are cleansing, climaxing anthems with Mincolla's hair-raising vocals sounding as bleak and doomy as ever. That's a good thing in a genre that prides itself on its darkness and menacing aura. 3TEETH are here to champion industrial metal and make sure the genre stays relevant for years to come.

Author: Anne Erickson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).