Get Rollin'

rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. San Quentin
02. Skinny Little Missy
03. Those Days
04. High Time
05. Vegas Bomb
06. Tidal Wave
07. Does Heaven Even Know You're Missing?
08. Steel Still Rusts
09. Horizon
10. Standing In The Dark
11. Just One More

People like to refer to NICKELBACK as the most disliked band in rock, but let's be real: Any band that can sell more than 50 million albums worldwide must have heaps of fans. The Canadian rockers are back with their tenth studio album, "Get Rollin'", which marks NICKELBACK's first proper release since 2017's "Feed the Machine". The set starts with a bang, as lead track "San Quentin" hits the listener hard with sharp riffing, a low, slippery groove and Chad Kroeger's gritty vocals. "San Quentin" is arguably one of the heaviest NICKELBACK songs to date, recalling their past bangers such as 2003's "Figured You Out" and 2005's "Rockstar" but stepping it up with an even heavier, more aggressive, blaring sound.

From there, "Get Rollin'" launches into another dirty rocker, as "Skinny Little Missy" kicks in with a wicked guitar lick and groove that begs you to dance. The track has Kroeger crooning vocals amid thick riffs and impressive guitar soloing. Remember MY DARKEST DAY's "Porn Star Dancing"? Consider this a less raunchy, updated version of that song with the Nickelback vibe.

If you're wondering what happened to the heartfelt, introspective "Photograph"-brand of NICKELBACK, those fears will be put to ease with the subsequent track, "Those Days". This song plays like an updated version of "Photograph", with Kroeger recalling childhood memories and singing with a yearning, passionate delivery, much like in the omnipresent 2005 hit. Elsewhere, "Does Heaven Even Know You're Missing?" , "Steel Still Rusts" and "Horizon" are other classic-sounding NICKELBACK ballads that should appease the adult contemporary airwaves.

"High Time" and "Standing In The Dark" mark daring territory for NICKELBACK, serving up a straight-ahead twangy style and beat that's new for the group. Are NICKELBACK going country? Time will tell. "Vegas Bomb" turns things up again, with a metal-leaning guitar intro that crashes into a stadium-ready anthem. "Tidal Wave" follows, introducing an almost '80s pop vibe, which is also unique for this band. The album closes with "Just One More", a classic, melodic rock number that features Kroeger's powerful vocals, sweet-sounding guitar riffs and a deep, pulsating beat.

"Get Rollin'" shows that while NICKELBACK will always have that radio-friendly, mainstream sound that makes them so popular, they're also not scared to dabble in new sounds and styles, such as country rock or borderline metal. Perhaps it's time to give NICKELBACK a second chance or at least make them your newest guilty pleasure band.

Author: Anne Erickson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).