Grand Explosivos

Mighty Music
rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. When Life Treats You Funky
02. Better Safe Than Sober
03. I've Got A Feelin'
04. And The Band Played On – Part 1
05. Domestic Blitz
06. Karma's Gonna Get You
07. Learjet
08. Missed Her By A Minute
09. Cozmic Jagger
10. The Great Believer
11. And The Band Played On – Part 2

Always at least twice as exciting as the bands they routinely supported, ELECTRIC BOYS probably could, should and would have been global megastars had anyone sensible been in charge back in the late '80s. But despite their former underdog status, Conny Bloom and Andy Christell's enormo-rock ensemble have been a hugely impressive creative force since reforming in 2009. In particular, 2018's "The Ghost Ward Diaries" and 2021's "Ups!de Down" were almost overstuffed with great songs, all delivered with gallons of ageless oomph.

While perhaps not as brashly funky as they once were, the energy, swagger and songwriting suss that poured from early classics like "Funk-O-Metal Carpet Ride" and "Groovus Maximus" remains fundamental to everything they do. When you sound this good, it seems, being cocky about it is only fair. An upbeat and exuberant riposte to "Ups!de Down" and its hungover, melancholy undertones, "Grand Explosivos" has a huge twinkle in its eye and its dancing shoes polished and gleaming.

Here they come, glasses clinking and hips in swivel mode: "When Life Treats You Funky" is a squeaky leather strut to rival the greats, and a rowdy reminder of ELECTRIC BOYS' dancefloor affiliations. The funk is with them, and the funk is flourishing. There's a party going on and the first song hasn't finished yet. When it does finish, any suggestion that we could all go home and get an early night is quickly disavowed. "Better Safe Than Sober" is a fiery rock 'n' roll strut with a scampering power-pop chorus and obligatory sweet, sweet vocal harmonies. "I've Got A Feelin'" is an instant gem of sinewy, late '80s IGGY POP-style radio-rock. "Domestic Blitz" is an all-cylinders hard rock anthem, with AC/DC's stripped-down DNA on the tip of its oversized tongue. The two-part "And The Band Played On" reunites ELECTRIC BOYS with their love of lavish, '70s pop-rock, with just enough post-Bolan raunch to justify the sequins.

Elsewhere, "Karma's Gonna Get You" may have righteous, retaliatory intent, but its low-slung groove is the sleaziest thing since AEROSMITH's "Last Child". "Learjet" pushes CHEAP TRICK down a gold-plated alley and rocks them aggressively to sleep. "Missed Her By A Minute" is almost Springsteen-esque in tone, with an earthy, laidback feel that suits the Swedes perfectly. "Cozmic Jagger" pays tribute to the world's greatest living frontman with another few barrels of overdriven funk rock; "The Great Believer" delivers the big, blues metal payoff, with a stunted SABBATH riff, a cheery lyrical nod to Jimi Hendrix, and a huge and uproarious chorus.

It may not be widely acknowledged, but ELECTRIC BOYS are easily one of the greatest (so-called) classic rock bands currently on active duty, and "Grand Explosivos" is big, joyous rock at its ridiculous best.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).