Hell's Unleashed

Century Media
rating icon 6 / 10

Track listing:

01. Don't Want To Be Born
02. Hell's Unleashed
03. Demoneater
04. Fly Raven Fly
05. Mrs. Minister
06. Joy In The Sun
07. Demons Rejoice
08. We'll Come For You
09. Triggerman
10. Dissection Leftovers
11. Peace, Piece By Piece
12. Burnt Alive
13. Your Head Is Mine
14. Made In Hell

Never known as one of the genre's more inventive outfits, Swedish death metallers UNLEASHED established a niche over the course of their previous five full-length albums that has ensured the group a die-hard and loyal following while simultaneously rendering much of their output virtually interchangeable.

Despite a five-year break that followed the release of the group's last studio offering, 1997's Warrior, UNLEASHED appear to have made little headway in the musical department and have picked up exactly where they left off, opting to stick to the same kind of straight-ahead, no-frills death metal that has made them one of the genre's most consistent and reliable entities.

At their best, UNLEASHED still deliver this kind of stuff with a fair amount of conviction, with Johnny Hedlund's distinctive growls fortifying the group's seemingly endless arsenal of by-the-numbers death metal riffs, a lot of which have an air of familiarity to them that is difficult to shake off.

As has been the case with the group's past offerings, the Stockholm quartet seem to be going through the motions and rehashing previously-charted territories without elevating the quality of the material to a standard one would expect to hear from a band that is considered to be one of the pioneers in the genre, particularly as it pertains to the Swedish scene. Songs like "Don't Want To Be Born" and "Demoneater", while packing a potent punch and not without their redeeming qualities, ultimately fail to ignite the kind of spark necessary for a band like UNLEASHED to make a mark in the year 2002, especially when compared to such innovative acts as IN FLAMES and SOILWORK, both of whom have evolved without compromising the essence of their respective styles.

Unless you are a death metal purist with a penchant for workmanlike performances that are short on originality and lacking in creativity, it's difficult to imagine Hell's Unleashed being viewed as anything else but a predictable, unexciting effort that is all but certain to go down as one of the least impressive efforts of UNLEASHED's recording career.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).