Higher Power

rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Higher Power
02. Deadman's Trigger
03. When Love Is Not Enough
04. What I Deserve (feat. Yiannis Papadopoulos)
05. If These Walls Could Talk (feat. Dorothy)
06. Black Butterfly
07. Quicksand (feat. Yiannis Papadopoulos)
08. You're Not Alone
09. Dancing In The Rain (feat. Yiannis Papadopoulos)
10. Weight Of The World

Scott Stapp rose to fame as the lead vocalist of the late-1990s and early-2000s CREED. The group's soaring melodies, emotive guitars and Stapp's near-angelic vocals stood out in a sea of post-grunge bands that didn't share the same anthemic, spiritual sound.

CREED parted ways in 2004, and Stapp went on to work on solo music while the rest of the band formed ALTER BRIDGE. However, CREED have reunited over the years for a handful of tours and shows, and this year, they're embarking on a lengthy reunion tour. So, it's certainly the year for CREED, but it's also the year for Stapp, as he is performing shows for his new solo album, "Higher Power".

Bolting out of the gate the album opens with the title track, which should appeal to CREED fans with its introspective, near-religious vocals and Stapp's powerful delivery. Here Stapp sings about the day he died being the day he came back to life and how he's walked through fire and faced demons only to become stronger. An inspiring and relatable message about adversity.

"Deadman's Trigger" follows, a heavier song with thick guitars and Stapp singing against a Devil on his shoulder and not giving in. "When Love Is Not Enough" is the most CREED-like song on the set, with warm, swelling melodies and Stapp's pristine vocals that really do sound like they come from a higher power.

"Higher Power" also features some cool collaborations, including Dorothy on the folks-y "If These Walls Could Talk" and guitarist Yiannis Papadopoulos on "What I Deserve", "Quicksand" and "Dancing in the Rain". "If These Walls Could Talk" is a showstopper, with delicate guitars that provide the foundation for a beautiful duet between Stapp and Dorothy, as they sing about what they've gone through and the stories their walls could tell, if those walls had voices. "You're Not Alone" is another heartfelt ballad, with light guitars that hug Stapp's vocals. "Weight of the World" closes out the album, and it's a highlight, with Stapp singing about dealing with the weight of the world amid U2-like atmospheres.

Throughout the album, Stapp tells the listener to remember how strong they are, that it's okay to ask for help and that they can overcome any adversity. "Higher Power" is an emotional record relying more heavily on the lyrics and vocals than many rock records, which makes sense, because Stapp's lyrics and stories have always been at the forefront of his music.

Author: Anne Erickson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).