Keeper of the Seven Keys, Part I

Sanctuary reissue
rating icon 10 / 10

Track listing:

01. Initiation
02. I'm Alive
03. A Little Time
04. Twilight of the Gods
05. A Tale That Wasn't Right
06. Future World
07. Halloween
08. Follow the Sign
09. Victim of Fate
10. Starlight (remix)
11. A Little Time (Alternate Version)
12. Halloween (Video Edit)

In the present day, when HELLOWEEN fans argue about the band's continued relevance or lack thereof, and debate which album or era holds the most merit, it's easy to forget the time when this band could absolutely do no wrong. They pretty much wrote the rule book in 1987 with "Keeper of the Seven Keys, Part I", taking influences from QUEEN to MAIDEN to QUEENSRŸCHE and mapping out a blueprint that mere mortals are still slavishly following to this day. And even though a mini-industry within the European music biz has sprung up to handle subsequent generations of power metal, no one has yet nailed it down with the energy, enthusiasm, and creative spark of the classic HELLOWEEN lineup.

It's past time for a definitive, remastered reissue of this classic album (and "Keeper… Part 2" as well, which will be covered next week). Bonus material isn't the most impressive — a b-side, a single edit, the sort of tracks already found elsewhere and already in the hands of the obsessive. But even without the extra cuts, just having a good-sounding remaster of the original songs should make any metal fan with a pulse ecstatic.

If I may be permitted an old-man moment: you kids with your DRAGONFORCE need to go back to this album and respect the roots. HELLOWEEN took melodic metal to a new standard of aggression and speed here, cranking out fast, double-kick-driven barnstormers with soaring melody in both the vocals (debuting an 18-year-old Michael Kiske behind the microphone) and the guitars (the team of Kai Hansen and Michael Weikath proving to be one of the best combos in the business). The soloing in "I'm Alive" alone is joyous and exuberant, bursting with brash confidence and the kind of world-beating energy that makes the whole album like a shot of caffeine.

"Keeper of the Seven Keys, Part I" runs the gamut — from the frenetic "happy HELLOWEEN" sound of "I'm Alive" to bombastic ballad "A Tale That Wasn't Right" to the ultra-catchy "Future World". The centerpiece, though, is of course "Halloween", the fourteen-minute epic that laid out in no uncertain terms the ambitions and creative overload of this band. Defiantly long and meandering (although a butchered five-minute "single edit" was reluctantly agreed to for the USA),"Halloween" was a career-making smorgasbord of riffs and parts, almost decadent in its indulgence, and astonishing in the sheer quality of the whole damn works.

"Part 2" may have sold more copies and spawned more recognizable hits ("I Want Out", anyone?) but "Keeper of the Seven Keys, Part I" turned HELLOWEEN from promising indie metal scrappers to hard rock royalty. All was not well behind the scenes, of course, but we didn't know that at the time, and it scarcely matters two decades later — this masterpiece has barely aged, and still holds its own with anything that's come since. Absolutely mandatory metal.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).