Kingdom of Fear

rating icon 7.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. Kingdom of Fear
02. Multitude
03. Wandering One
04. Follow the Allfather
05. Tyr
06. Dead Shall See
07. Curse
08. I Kamp
09. Terrorkings
10. Path of Power
11. Raven Calls

"Now you will kneel before us all", spews the vitriol from the mouth of sadistic growler Odhinn Sandin on "The Multitude" from "Kingdom of Fear", the fourth album from Sweden's IN BATTLE. I could not think of a more apt lyric to describe the attitude on display here. This is about as in your face as it gets, the 11 molten death metal tracks delivered as though the band fully intends to destroy anyone in its path.

In constant attack mode, the unit tears through song after song of unbridled death metal with slivers of black metal in some of the guitar parts. Drummers Nils Fjellström absolutely destroys his kit with the kind of blast beats and double bass assaults that wreck the nerves and rattle the teeth. At times the group's approach on the album reminds me of the havoc wreaked by the lethal war metal played by bands like Australia's ABOMINATOR and New Zealand's DAWN OF AZAZEL, although the sound of IN BATTLE remains grounded in vintage Swedish death metal. Giving the disc a few extra spins allows one to calm down after the initial body blow and identify the nuances in the songwriting. As relentless as it seems, there are some dynamics at work here, whether the coloration in the drumming or the compositional changeups. Along with the multitude of speed killers, the band slows it down a bit on tracks like "Follow the Allfather" and "The Wandering One", the latter offering one of several blazing guitar solos heard on the disc.

Mostly "Kingdom of Fear" beats the listener senseless and moves on to the next victim. Melody is mostly an afterthought, although there are some memorable moments on a group of songs that are smartly arranged for maximum impact. There is nothing fancy or groundbreaking here, just skillfully performed and violent death metal from a group that plays it like it means it.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).