Makina Elektrika

rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Bu Düzen Yıkılsın
02. Sur
03. Pride
04. Revenant
05. Sensiz
06. Maymunlar Gezegeni
07. Damn The War
08. Dunya
09. Ödenmez
10. Seek And Destroy

Better known in the western world as MEZARKABUL and absolutely not to be confused with the legendary doom metal band of the same name, PENTAGRAM are among Turkey's most heavyweight bands. Formed at the height of the thrash era, they have evolved constantly over the years, from the relative traditionalism of their early works to a sophisticated, esoteric blend of epic metal and assorted homegrown and Middle Eastern influences. Hugely popular at home but largely unsung elsewhere, PENTAGRAM are long overdue some recognition, and "Makina Elektrika" is the perfect record to make it happen.

Echoing the holistic euphoria of HELLOWEEN's recent reunion / expansion, PENTAGRAM reunited with all their previous vocalists for 2017's "Akustik" hits set, and have simply carried on with the same, nine-man lineup ever since. The result of a rejuvenated creative process, "Makina Elektrika" is the perfect introduction to the band's entire catalogue, as they switch seamlessly between styles, with vocalists Gökalp Ergen, Murat Ílkan and Ogün Sanlisoy contributing wildly differing but neatly harmonious performances.

Much of this is neatly in line with ORPHANED LAND's vision of Oriental metal, albeit with rather more classic metal crunch underpinning the songs. "Bu Düzen Yikilsin" is a great starting point, with its skewed but elegant riffs and otherworldly percussive embellishments. In contrast, "Sur" is a bittersweet melodic anthem, underscored by refined guitar harmonies but equally steeped in classy '80s radio rock. "Pride" changes tone and texture again, this time to a stately and ethereal strain of power metal, replete with a prog-tinged, syncopated breakdown. Elsewhere, "Sensiz" gets sluggish and sinister, as Sanlisoy snarls and spits across a lumbering, quasi-death / doom splurge; "Maymunlar Gezegeni" is a taut and nimble burst of progressive thrash; "Ödenmez" is a beautiful, acoustic reverie, with shades of SABBATH's "Planet Caravan" but viewed through an Eastern prism.

All of that should be more than enough to convince sensible people to explore PENTAGRAM's catalogue more thoroughly, but if not, the closing cover of METALLICA's "Seek And Destroy" will surely be the clincher. Instead of pursuing the usual, lazily respectful course, the Turkish nontet have rebuilt the entire song in their own inimitable, esoteric way, and it's utterly inspired and genuinely audacious.

35 years into their careers, PENTAGRAM (or, if you prefer, MEZARKABUL) have little to prove, but "Makina Elektrika" proves it anyway. A class act.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).