rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. I'm Alice
02. Welcome To The Show
03. All Over The World
04. Dead Don't Dance
05. Go Away
06. White Line Frankenstein
07. Big Boots
08. Rules Of The Road
09. The Big Goodbye
10. Road Rats Forever
11. Baby Please Don't Go
12. 100 More Miles
13. Magic Bus

As recognizable as he is, ALICE COOPER has never been inclined to conform to expectations. The godfather of shock rock has been around for so long and achieved so much, that he is really just enjoying himself at this point, making albums that fit neatly into his legacy without threatening the supremacy of those early, revered classics. "Road" arrives six years after "Paranormal" (great fun, but slightly overwhelmed by its glut of star cameos) and two since "Detroit Stories" (a likeable return-to-roots escapade),  and sounds like an album that the great man has been itching to make for rather too long. Effectively a showcase for Cooper's current live band, "Road" is also a concept record, detailing the many and varied experiences of touring musicians, in all their sordid and spectacular glory.

Pleasingly, his 29th studio effort honors its own theme by sounding big, bombastic and as close to live as anyone is likely to get with the sonically flamboyant Bob Ezrin at the controls. In fact, Ezrin has played it perfectly here: "Road" will surprise nobody with its potent blend of thunderous heaviness and trashy rock 'n' roll, but Cooper's band — guitarists Nita Strauss, Ryan Roxie and Tommy Henriksen, bassist Chuck Garric and drummer Glen Sobel — sound fantastic throughout, giving their leader the perfect backdrop to ham it up against. And he really goes for it this time, the old rogue.

The mother of all self-referential anthems, "I'm Alice" sums up Cooper's philosophy in three minutes of rampant hard rock: yes, he's "a master of madness" and "the father of fright" and we wouldn't have him any other way. Musically, too, "I'm Alice" is a joyous snapshot of what this band can do, and the kind of fat-free, snot-nosed rock 'n' roll that always brings the best out of our hero. Happily, "Road" is full of the stuff. "Welcome To The Show" is a rowdy hard rocker with a bad attitude; "All Over The World" is a swaggering, STONES-ish jam proclaiming that "we kill it wherever we go"; the Tom Morello-augmented "White Line Frankenstein" brings ancient and modern together in a shower of riffs and goofy slogans; "Dead Don't Dance" has the blues metal intensity of BLACK LABEL SOCIETY; "Rules Of The Road" is a feast of sound advice ("You've got to find a killer band and bust your ass, you understand?") married to a perky, power-pop shuffle. Fans of ALICE COOPER's '80s metal era will get a kick from the size of the riffs during "The Big Goodbye", while those of a more sensitive disposition can bask in the melancholy, acoustic haze of "Baby Please Don't Go" and the psychedelic theatricality of "100 More Miles". Only a perfunctory cover of THE WHO's "Magic Bus" feels surplus to requirements, but still sounds like it was a lot of fun to record.

Permanently on the road and largely impervious to the passing of time, ALICE COOPER doesn't really need to make records as good as this anymore. But the fact that he can, and does, is something to be celebrated. "Road" is top-of-the-range 21st century Coop.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).