The Forest Sessions

rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Wasteland (Forest version)
02. Leaving (Forest version)
03. Holy Woods (Forest version)
04. Where Devils Weep (Forest version)
05. …And The Pillars Tremble (Forest version)
06. The Call To Adventure (Forest version)
07. The Mountain (Forest version)
08. Dance Of The Water Spirits (Forest version)
09. The Call To Adventure (Roadburn version)
10. A Dance In The Road (Roadburn version)

Formerly guitarist with Swedish gothic death merchants TRIBULATION, Jonathan Hultén surprised everybody, perhaps even himself, when he transformed into an artful singer songwriter. Both his debut EP "The Dark Night Of The Soul" and subsequent full-length, "Chants From Another Place" were spellbinding, and full of gently psychedelic and quietly inventive songwriting that plundered from everywhere and nowhere, all while steeped in the icy ambience of a frozen forest, with just a slight hint of lysergic intervention thrown in.

Comprising new and more experimental versions of songs from both previous releases, "The Forest Sessions" grew from a mainly visual project, wherein Hultén and colleagues filmed eight live performances at different locations in Stockholm, resulting in eight unique mini-movies and necessarily distinct new interpretations of the songs themselves. Those videos are included here on the accompanying DVD, alongside performances captured for Roadburn Festival's lockdown-inspired Roadburn Redux event in 2021 (two of which are featured in audio form too).

As winter draws in like some kind of demented bulldozer, these stripped down but defiantly odd new takes on Hultén's songs work perfectly well without visual dressing. In particular, "Wasteland" is an instantly immersive starting point, with its treacly drones and sepia-stained rumblings, while "Where Devils Weep" sounds even more like a throwback from the early days of psychedelic folk, lush vocal harmonies and watery, speaker-to-speaker panning included. Cascading pipe organ provides Hultén's voice with a newly grandiose backdrop for "…And The Pillars Tremble", while "The Call To Adventure" wanders into '80s art-pop, full of dark confidence and prog rock bravado. "The Mountain" is the most beautiful of all: a simple, austere folk song that blossoms into something more nuanced and peculiar, it has the same magical otherness that turned ancestors like John Martyn and Nick Drake into legends. The Roadburn Redux versions of "The Call To Adventure" and the autumnal acid-rock adventure of "A Dance In The Road" are enchanting, too.

Beautiful and strange, "The Forest Sessions" will keep us all warm until Hultén makes his enchanting next move.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).