The Height of Callousness

rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Asthmatic
02. The Height of Callousness
03. Synthetic
04. New Disease
05. (Can't Be) Fixed
06. Cyanide 2600
07. Play God
08. Malnutrition
09. Seamless
10. Negative Space
11. Transparent

Having perfected their chops while part of the same Southern California scene that spawned the likes of COAL CHAMBER, STATIC-X, SYSTEM OF A DOWN, and THE DEADLIGHTS, SPINESHANK have kept a comparatively low profile and were not rewarded with nearly the same type of commercial success that the above-mentioned groups achieved with their initial releases. On their second album, SPINESHANK appear to have toughened up their act and sharpened their songwriting skills, with the bulk of the 11 songs on the offer coming across as much beefier and catchier than anything on the quartet's Strictly Diesel CD. 


Although SPINESHANK are still, for the most part, treading previously charted territory, the group's increased emphasis on vocal hooks and a more cohesive songwriting approach have resulted in a dramatically more mature sounding effort, with "Synthetic" standing as by far and away the most infectious song the band have written to date. Elsewhere, the title track pushes forth with the kind of unadulterated intensity that is rarely heard from the quartet, while "Cyanide 2600" revolves around a more electronic, industrial feel that is notably devoid of the melodic passages that characterize most of the rest of the album.


If there is one criticism that I could offer, it would simply be that the mixing job of Scott Humphrey appears to have given the guitars an overbearingly harsh edge that makes the listening experience an unnecessarily trying one, especially at louder volumes, which conflicts with the more accessible nature of most of the material. Having said that, this is a relatively minor flaw that should have no bearing on the band's ability to make a significant commercial impact with this thoroughly excellent effort.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).