The Moment You Find Your Flame EP

rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. "Good Enough"
02. "Immortal"
03. "Gone"
04. "I Don't Wanna Die"

ATREYU, influential on the scene since 2002's "Suicide Notes and Butterfly Kisses", are metalcore vets at this point. Earlier this year, the band released a new EP, the four-song "The Hope of a Spark". Now, they're back with another four-song EP, this one titled "The Moment You Find Your Flame".

While short EPs can often raise the eyebrows of music fans, rest easy that ATREYU made each of these songs epic, so the collection really does come together as a complete set. The EP features four metalcore gems, each individual and detailed enough to warrant their own time in the spotlight. Produced by longtime band collaborator John Feldmann, the new songs tackle deep topics surrounding the pressures, pleasures and pains of existence.

"Good Enough" kicks the set off with a delicate guitar intro followed by massive, steamy guitar riffing that parts ways when ATREYU frontman Brandon Saller's powerful voice cuts in. Musically, the instrumentals shift from thick guitars to lighter passages, making this a very dynamic track. Overall, the track is also melodic and mainstream-sounding enough that it could be a radio single.

"Immortal" follows, with eerie-sounding guitars that take a step back before the introduction of the vocals. This song has as a strong electronic basis and spooky vibe, making it something that would fit alongside MOTIONLESS IN WHITE or ICE NINE KILLS. The song's bridge especially has that unnerving tone, with the vocals distorted to sound ghost-like. It's a jarring but also cool-sounding effect.

Up next is "Gone", bringing a '90s pop-punk vibe, with manic rhythms and melodic punk vocals. Lyrically, the song describes a lost love whom the protagonist didn't know how to love and care for. This love disappears into the darkness. These are truly some of the most poetic lyrics you'll find in metalcore, which is a genre known for its verse.

The EP closes out with the mid-tempo anthem "I Don't Wanna Die", which begins with organs and morphs into a heavy metal track, complete with a METALLICA-like guitar passage. "I Don't Wanna Die" is the strongest song on the set and shows Saller's vocals at his best. His thick, powerful drawl drips with emotion as he sings about being set free from a prison that he's made for himself.

"The Moment You Find Your Flame" offers a range of sounds and brings great variety to ATREYU's catalog. More than anything, it displays that ATREYU are and always will be masters at conjuring up deep emotions and meaning in their songs and, subsequently, the listener. "The Moment You Find Your Flame" is a striking addition to their collection.

Author: Anne Erickson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).