The Sciences

Third Man
rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. The Sciences
02. Marijuanaut's Theme
03. Sonic Titan
04. Antarcticans Thawed
05. Giza Butler
06. The Botanist

Is it a doom metal band or a stoner rock band? It probably is a bit of column A and column B. Regardless, SLEEP is revered as royalty. It's been making the rounds again on the live circuit for a decade much to the pleasure of heshers the world over. But counter to an expected red-carpet rollout in terms of a massive publicity campaign, "The Sciences", the group's first studio full-length in nearly 20 years and fourth overall, virtually came out of nowhere, and appropriately on the holy day for weed fiends: April 20. Perhaps equally surprising is the fact that it was released via garage rock star Jack White's label, Third Man Records. The most pleasant surprise of all, however, is the fact that it's anything but a house-mortgage-paying cash grab. "The Sciences" is one of SLEEP's best albums. Expectations for the group's inevitable comeback album were high, and, in short, it delivers and rightfully sits high above the competition upon its throne.

In the time that has lapsed since the devilish unit's heyday, the members have furthered their legacies with notable bands in their own right. Bassist and vocalist Al Cisneros has done so with OM, and guitarist Matt Pike with HIGH ON FIRE. Starkly contrasting Cisneros's spiritual voyage into the void with OM, "The Sciences" is a return to the wild spirit of early SLEEP and its precursor ASBESTOSDEATH. SLEEP circa 2018 is the sonic equivalent of teenagers hitting bong hits while discovering BLACK SABBATH classics for the first time. The naming of the second to last song, titled "Giza Butler", is a light-hearted reference to said founding metal band's bassist.

There's something childlike and fun-loving beneath the unkempt doom. While being true to its own roots and early days, and with the experience the members have gained over the years via their other projects, SLEEP travels the same trajectory it was on before. But it doesn't sound as though it's just more of the same. The band has simply become better at making the kind of music people want to hear from it.

Pike's riffs are as memorable as they are gargantuan, and Cisneros's vocals are reliably hypnotic. Everything lays atop the backbone rhythms and beats that are driven by NEUROSIS's drummer Jason Roeder, who joined the band in 2010, replacing original skinsman Chris Hakius, who retired from music to focus upon domestic life. The tribal crawl inherent in his playing style carries through "The Sciences", but he definitely tailors his contribution for this very different band. Roeder knows when a pummeling is more appropriate, or when more subtle jazz-like qualities are what the music calls for—not that NEUROSIS isn't known for its calm moments as well. He just expresses himself differently here. SLEEP has never sounded as confident as they do on "The Sciences", and collectively, the trio proceeds as though it has a greater sense of purpose and drive.

The unmistakable bubbling sounds of a bong start things off at the beginning of the album's first proper song, "Marijuananaut's Theme". Whether one is a weed enthusiast or not, this is everything a SLEEP fan would expect and want. The bong hit is a small but significant sign that the men, approaching their 50s, are still the maniacal heshers at heart that they were when they gave birth to the band in 1990. As burly as the band's world-class doom is, the lyrical focus upon all such things green reveals the trio's jovial and very self-aware side.

SLEEP has offered what, at this point, seems to be the likely doom metal album of the year, much better than the lackluster ELECTRIC WIZARD offering. And rather than spit out something for novelty or profitability, the band has produced an album that finds it as significant as ever. Hopefully the second stage of SLEEP's recording career will continue to be as monumental as the first. Either way, "The Sciences" is a home run.

Author: Jay H. Gorania
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).