To Drink From The Night Itself

Century Media
rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Der Widerstand
02. To Drink from the Night Itself
03. A Stare Bound in Stone
04. Palace of Lepers
05. Daggers of Black Haze
06. The Chasm
07. In Nameless Sleep
08. The Colours of the Beast
09. A Labyrinth of Tombs
10. Seas of Starvation
11. In Death They Shall Burn
12. The Mirror Black

One of the most exciting aspects of influential death metal acts like AT THE GATES and CARCASS awaking from hiatus-induced slumber, has been seeing each band return with newly recorded material that made it seem like the last twenty years of pretenders to the throne never happened. Given the myriad of clones and second-, third-, and fourth-generation dupes that pillaged every page from the melodic-death playbook, watering down the overall sound, there was curiosity as to whether each band would sound vital upon recording new material. Much like its peer CARCASS did with its 2013 comeback, "Surgical Steel", so too did AT THE GATES land on its feet with the band's 2014 return, "At War With Reality". The record was a natural progression from its 1995 landmark "Slaughter of the Soul", with new songs blending in seamlessly in subsequent live shows alongside well-worn favorites.

The four years since "At War With Reality" have seen a chip in the band's armor, as longtime guitarist Anders Björler departed during the songwriting process for the band's new record, "To Drink from the Night Itself". Björler's simple reasoning was that "the passion is gone."

Luckily for fans, the passion still very much remains for the rest of the band on the group's latest record, and that passion is evident in the final product. With longtime friend of the band Jonas Stålhammar stepping in on guitar, AT THE GATES forges forward as one would have imagined the path moving forward to have been, whether there was a lineup change or not. Vocalist Tomas Lindberg's barks are as furious as ever, Adrian Erlandsson's drumming reliably pummels throughout the duration, and Stålhammer fits in effortlessly alongside guitarist Martin Larsson and bassist Jonas Björler. This is a record that had AT THE GATES stayed together and become a career band, similar to AMORPHIS and DARK TRANQUILLITY, it would likely still be the record the group would have released in 2018.

That's not to say "To Drink From The Night Itself" is a pure redux of broken-in sounds. After the haunting acoustic intro track, "Der Widerstand", AT THE GATES spends the next forty-three minutes alternating between straight-up moshers and slower-paced, moodier tracks. The record's track sequencing is expertly paced, with the mid-tempo tracks scattered throughout the album in-between the tracks that are more indicative of what we view as the traditional AT THE GATES sound. Songs such as the title track, "In Nameless Sleep", and "In Death They Shall Burn" all sound like they could have been B-sides to "Slaughter of the Soul". Other tracks such as "Daggers of Black Haze" are mid-tempo stompers with a more primal sense of brutality.

In the live setting, we anticipate that "The Colours of the Beast" will lead to the most violent pit of the evening. This back-half track is a crunchy dirge, a plodding display of raw force that seems to be the one nod to the New Wave of American Heavy Metal acts that were inspired by the band's original run.

AT THE GATES's previous record was a slam-dunk; a band reclaiming its throne. "To Drink From The Night Itself" showcases a group maintaining its throne, while taking a few calculated risks throughout.

Author: Jason Roche
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).