We Are Nøt Okay

Nuclear Blast
rating icon 7.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. We Are Nøt Okay
02. Everyone I Love Is Broken
03. Voices
04. Shark Tooth

Their solid but flawed debut album may not have set the world alight, but Austria's OCEANS are clearly heading in the right direction. The band's sound remains an audacious but straight-ahead blend of crunching, post-deathcore riffing and darkly atmospheric, alt-rock textures, but these songs dig much deeper than those on the debut.

In fact, the four new cuts on this EP suggest that OCEANS' songwriting skills have sharpened up considerably during the last 12 months. These are big songs, with stirring core melodies and big choruses, but their bruised and bruising heaviness often allude more strongly to melodic doom than to metalcore. The result is a rather disquieting hybrid, wherein supreme, ultra-polished catchiness and the glowering menace of the underground reach some strange form of harmony. Opener "We Are Nøt Okay" — featuring CALIBAN's Andreas Dörner — is the obvious, fists-in-the-air anthem here, with lyrics that could hardly be more appropriate for this most anxiety-inducing of eras, and levels of heaviness that belie the song's absurdly memorable hook. "Everyone I Love Is Broken" is a straight-up gem, with MACHINE HEAD's Robb Flynn adding his scabrous but soulful tones to a wonderfully windswept and widescreen chorus; graced with the crushing charisma of INFECTED RAIN singer Lena Scissorhands, "Voices" takes OCEANS further into brutal realms, with a savage mid-song breakdown, shades of GOJIRA's spaced-out onslaught and another towering chorus. Closer "Shark Tooth" completes the quartet, with ANNISOKAY's Christoph Wieczorek and OCEANS frontman Timo Rotten dueling away over some grittily KORN-like, lurching grooves.

Great stuff, then, and a big step forward for a band with tons of potential. OCEANS' next full-length promises to be a scorcher.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).