Five Legged Dog

rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Edgar The Elephant
02. Up The Dumper
03. Hung Bunny/Roman Dog Bird
04. Hooch
05. Billy Fish
06. Shevil
07. Charlie
08. A Growing Disgust
09. Eye Flys/Woman
10. Pitfalls In Serving Warrants
11. Outside Chance
12. Evil New War God
13. The Bloated Pope
14. Bad Move
15. With Teeth
16. Halo of Flies
17. Oven
18. Sway
19. Anaconda
20. Lovely Butterflies
21. Boris
22. It's Shoved
23. Honey Bucket
24. We Are Doomed
25. Flypaper
26. Let God Be Your Gardener
27. At The Stake
28. Night Goat
29. Queen
30. Everybody's Talking
31. Revolve
32. Suicide In Progress
33. Prig
34. The Bit
35. Civilized Worm
36. Don't Forget to Breathe

Some artists certainly made the most of the forced time available since and during the ongoing pandemic. Especially because touring was not in the cards, the legendary, long-running act known as (the) MELVINS dove into the genesis of its first ever acoustic release. True to form, the eccentric trio — comprised of core, founding members Buzz Osbourne (vocals/guitars) and Dale Crover (drums),alongside Steven McDonald (bass) — worked on a monstrous 36-song collection. Unsurprisingly "Five Legged Dog" is just as incredibly bizarre as it is enjoyable.

"Five Legged Dog" entails remarkable MELVINS songs that are reimagined with the eccentric mindset that's simply inextricable from the group's essence. Source tracks were culled from the collective's classic 1987 album "Gluey Porch Treatments" all the way through 2017's "A Walk with Love & Death" and beyond. The creepy, doom dirge of the "Gluey Porch Treatments" track "Eye Flys" is merged with the band FREE's seventies groove song "Woman". The acoustic format doesn't hinder the song's eerie and heavy qualities, simply for the fact that the song's negative space and bold approach are instantly captivating and inherently heavy in an emotional way.

The acoustic effort also includes previously unrecorded covers, like the ROLLING STONES' classic "Sway". The finesse that (the) MELVINS have with such pop rock styled songs reminds us how the legendary underground band's ability to seesaw between coarse and smooth helped them lay the foundation for the commercial, ubiquitous grunge movement that dominated the nineties. But, again, the trio's penchant for intensity perpetually surfaces, as with the reimagined rendition of "Lovely Butterfly", a song that originally appeared on "Honky". Dale Crover's tribalistic percussive assault on this track and throughout this release, never mind his ample work on the ensemble's non-acoustic albums, rivals that of NEUROSIS, even during that band's prime. And, with little surprise, the classic, hook-laden banger "Revolve", from "Stoner Witch", has the power to lead listeners to manic sessions of fist pumping more than any acoustic album ever should.

In the beginning of the storied band's career, MELVINS were responsible for some of the eighties most crushing sludge imaginable, and they did so in a manner that was parallel with the world of heavy metal but definitely on its own path, void of conventional metal trappings. While they've never had any element of tough guy pretense in tow, they most certainly marched forward with their burly sludge somehow fusing itself with the energy, fury and occasional pace of hardcore punk. In-studio weirdness dominated the act's career at the midway point, prior to the band returning to a more experimental, free-form hard rock format. Since then, the unit has simply continued to release good music, and "Five Legged Dog" is seemingly anything but a cash-grab nor a lazy stroll down memory lane. Never ceasing to mesmerize, it's an authentic reimagining of (the) MELVINS' classic songs within the realm of acoustic

Author: Jay H. Gorania
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).