Nuclear Blast
rating icon 8.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. Worship
02. Chemical Whore
03. Greedy Bastards
04. Dead World
05. We're The Walking Dead
06. Brotherhood Of The Serpent
07. Children Of The Gray
08. Another Day
09. They Will Arrive
10. Bug In The Net
11. Gods Of The Underground

A classic example of a great metal band who are perennially taken for granted, HYPOCRISY have been incredibly consistent over the years. There has also been an unwavering dedication to standing apart from the death metal crowd evident in the band's music, and not just through Peter Tägtgren's undisputed mastery of production and mixing. Even as early as seminal albums like "Abducted" (released a mind-blowing quarter of a century ago!),HYPOCRISY's chrome-plated take on melodic but brutal death metal sounded both futuristic and endearingly impervious to deathly fashion. And there is something undeniably pleasing about the fact that, once again, "Worship" is another explosive and imaginative HYPOCRISY album that sounds like absolutely nothing else (give or take a few bands that may have borrowed the Swedes' ideas from time to time). "Worship" sounds vast, arguably bigger and more colorful than any previous album, but it also exudes a sense of urgency and channeled vitriol that many much younger bands would struggle to equal.

The band's last album, 2013's "End of Disclosure", was sturdy enough, but album number 13 starts in intergalactic destroyer mode and sustains that imperious, planet-shattering gait throughout, via some of the catchiest and yet most extreme songs HYPOCRISY have ever released. Have they ever written a more intense or vicious song than the opening title track? Almost certainly not. "Chemical Whore" is another instant anthem, built around a grinding, mid-paced groove and graced with one of Tägtgren's iciest hooks. "Greedy Bastards", meanwhile, is pure violence and sci-fi scree: part throwback to the days of "The Arrival", part newfound impetus and intent. In stark contrast, "We're The Walking Dead" is an inch-perfect, mournful ballad, replete with harrowing screams and a big, emotional chorus. Likewise, "Children Of The Gray" is prime, go-slow melo-death, redolent of the good old days when the genre was fresh and new, but imbued with sufficient quantities of HYPOCRISY's anticosmic spite that it still feels forward thinking and ruthlessly contemporary.

With no obvious weak points, "Worship" is very plainly one of HYPOCRISY's strongest albums to date. Whether rattling along at a demented pace on "Another Day" or dabbling in trippy doom vibes for "Bug In The Net", the Swedes' identity is so strong and the overall sound of this record so potent that it does, at times, feel like a genuine master class. Moreover, HYPOCRISY sound newly engaged with the whole business of being a ferocious metal band. The album closes with "Gods Of The Underground", a pointedly dramatic and punishing finale with an irresistibly defiant refrain and all the harmonized lead histrionics any metalhead could wish for. Again, it's masterful stuff. "Worship" – it's an instruction. Act accordingly.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).