Worship Music

rating icon 8.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. Worship
02. Earth On Hell
03. The Devil You Know
04. Fight 'Em Til You Can't
05. I'm Alive
06. In The End
07. The Giant
08. Judas Priest
09. Crawl
10. The Constant
11. Revolution Screams

Remember when the mention of Joey Belladonna and ANTHRAX in the same sentence conjured images of five guys stomping around in Bermuda shorts, shouting "NOT" and spelling things backwards? They didn't. What they did remember is how goddamn ridiculously heavy they can be when they put their metal thrashing minds to it. "Worship Music" reminds us all of that fact.

A combination of the darker side they showed on "Persistence Of Time", the powerhouse riffing of "Sound Of White Noise", "Among The Living"-inspired classic songwriting and a whole lot of "we-still-got-it," "Worship Music" is ANTHRAX on fire. The intro track, "Worship", lulls you in with a soothing bit of cello before feedback swells and "Earth On Hell" kicks in the door and bursts into the room, throwing handfuls of concrete groove at everyone in sight. "The Devil You Know" and "Fight ‘Em 'Til You Can't" serve up bootfuls of that classic Ian stomp and choruses that sink their hooks deep into your skin. The man casting those hooks, Mr. Joey Belladonna, makes the return of the decade. I won't waste any time on the John-vs.-Joey debate as Belladonna's performance speaks for itself. Simply put, the dude walked into the studio and knocked the proverbial ball out of the park. Highlighted by "I'm Alive" (a timeless tune if there ever was one) and "In The End", Joey Belladonna's unmistakable voice proved to be the perfect fit for this album.

Of course, no single individual deserves more credit than another here. "Worship Music" is the product of ANTHRAX firing on all cylinders. Scott Ian and Rob Caggiano (who coughs up some damn respectable solos on this disc) chug out more gargantuan riffs than should be allowed on a single release. Providing a mountain of low end, Frank Bello's rubbery bass rides perfectly beneath the two guitarists, pounding away in lockstep with Charlie Benante's always-solid drumming. From a songwriting perspective, this is some of the best material the band has offered up in quite some time. Granted, this isn't top to bottom badassery. Despite an excellent chorus, "The Giant" delivers a couple of clunky and forced sections. "The Constant" is another track I can pass over without much hesitation. That said, I'll put the massively towering "Judas Priest" and "I'm Alive" against any tune in the band's collection.

It's ironic that an album that almost never was suddenly became the release nobody should go without. "Worship Music" is one of the few records in recent memory that immediately grabbed me and has yet to loosen its grip. ANTHRAX has been known as titans for a generation now and they've returned to make sure the next batch of little thrashers address them properly.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).