ALTER BRIDGE's 'Walk The Sky 2.0' EP To Include New Song 'Last Rites'

September 15, 2020

Since the band announced the cancellation of its entire 2020 touring schedule, ALTER BRIDGE has taken time to do what they are known best for — creating. Never a band to take a lot of personal time off, the band reviewed live recordings from their shows in January/February 2020 to pick a few of its live favorites of songs from its latest album, "Walk The Sky". This led bandmembers Myles Kennedy, Mark Tremonti, Brian Marshall and Scott Phillips to begin sharing ideas for a new studio song. Those collective ideas would yield an original track titled "Last Rites" — a track written, recorded and completed entirely during the COVID-19 lockdown.

The final version of "Last Rites", along with live versions of "Wouldn't You Rather", "Pay No Mind", "Native Son", "Godspeed", "In The Deep" and "Dying Light", will form a new seven-song EP, "Walk The Sky 2.0", out November 6 via Napalm Records.

In other news, ALTER BRIDGE has released the official music video for the latest single from "Walk The Sky", titled "Native Son", which has racked up over five million worldwide streams to date, and is currently impacting at radio. The Stefano Bertelli-created clip — an animated short created completely using stop-animation techniques and incorporating origami to create a unique visual effect — starts by following a dark figure set in a prairie farmland setting. The viewer finds the character struggling to survive as that backdrop then morphs and gives way to industrialization and a city overtaking the original landscape. The visuals echo the lyrical sentiment: "I'm a native son in a foreign land. I'm just living in a world I can't understand."

"Walk The Sky 2.0" track listing:

01. Last Rites
02. Wouldn't You Rather (Live)
03. Pay No Mind (Live)
04. Native Son (Live)
05. Godspeed (Live)
06. In The Deep (Live)
07. Dying Light (Live)

"Walk The Sky 2.0" will be available in the following formats:

* Jewelcase CD
* Jewelcase CD + Shirt (Napalm Records Mailorder only, ex-North America)
* Cream Vinyl LP Gatefold
* Inkspot Yellow/Black Marbled Vinyl LP Gatefold (Napalm Records Mailorder only, limited to 150 copies in North America)
* 2-CD Earbook [+Walk The Sky] (Napalm Records Mailorder only, limited to 300 copies)
* Digital Album [+Walk The Sky]
* Inkspot Yellow/Black Marbled Vinyl LP Gatefold

"Walk The Sky" was released last October via Napalm Records.

Photo credit: Dan Sturgess

Find more on Alter bridge
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).